A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

In the memo to the head of the movie studio, the movie producer states that the funding to the movie 'Working Title' should be increased by 10%, in order to ensure the successful production of the movie. The movie producer has come to this conclusion based on the assumption that the existing inexperienced directors and assistants will dilate the movie set and the actors and crew will demand more money for this extra time spent on the set and if they are not paid on time, the actors will not be cooperative and movie is headed towards failure. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, the following three assumptions made by the producer for the above claim, has to be warranted with further evidence.

Firstly, the producer has assumed that the advertisement business is notoriously wasteful, and the director with experience in shampoo advertisement will employ the same technique used in shooting advertisements to the shooting of movie. Perhaps, in the field of shampoo advertisement the shots had to be quick and meaningful, specially in the parts where hair is wet. Maybe, advertisements have more content to be displayed in short screen time, hence the shots have to be very detailed and crisp and required directors full attention and satisfaction from every single shot for it to be passed, thus it required more time. The same principle cannot be applied to a movie where the screen time is patently higher. The director might not require take after take to get a good shot for the movie. If either of these above scenarios has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original argument that director will dilate by demanding take after take is significantly weakened.

Secondly, producer has assumed that inexperience is equal to the incapacity of the assistant producers and directors. Inexperience does not guarantee that the person will be bungling at their job, in fact they might be more meticulous and efficient compared to an experienced person at the job because of the invigorated enthusiasm for the new task at hand. Perhaps, these inexperienced assistants have a clever way of arranging the set quicker. Maybe, they will bring in new perspective and ideas which might save the budget and provide a huge return on investment. If the above is true, then the argument that assistants will cause the need to increase in budget, does not hold water.

Thirdly, producer has assumed that the actors and unionized crew will perform their duties with pedantically. Perhaps, the actors hired are inefficient at their job and their skills does not satisfy the directors needs which might be the reason for director demanding take after take. The director aiming for perfect shot and not compromising on quality will ensure a good quality product but the actors being inept or miscommunication between the actor and director might thwart the quality of the movie. Thus, the capacity of the actors also needs to be considered before improving the budget to pay them more, else it's just waste of resources.

In conclusion,. the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three assumptions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to improve the budget for movie in order to ensure its success.