“A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer.”

The statement asserts that all the students in a nation should study the same national curriculam until they reach their college. This may be useful for some, but when we take the nation as a whole there will be a lot of antithetical arguments based on this issue.

Firstly, when we instantiate a national curriculam for all the schools, then eveyone in the school are forced to study the same subjects. Some might be interested in them but others might not be interested in them. This might hinder the students ability to study the subject with full efficacy. For instance, when we take the country India they have instutited a national curriculam called CBSE, which is followed by most schools around India, this curriculam states that all students are supposed to study the same subject until the 10th grade, as a result most of the students find it hard.

Secondly, when the national curriculam is followed every student is forced to study the same subjects and we have no insight of what the curriculam covers. The students who is more foucused on a sports related, photography career or any other non-study related carrer are also forced to study them, eventually reducing the freedom of the student. If the students take a college major that is not covered in the national curriculam, it will be difficult for them during their college tenure.

Furthermore, when all the students are studying the studying the same subject, the chances of malpractices increases. For example, when the students sitting next to each other in an examination hall sit know what subject they are writing and the type of questions they will be facing before hand, then they tend to copy more. Therefore, the inigilators should be more meticulous during the examinations.

Finally, we can come to a conclusion for the above examples that the national curriculam might be beneficial for some but not for everyone. When we use this format for a long term, the student's future might not be bright.