The Gordon Act, which established a wildlife refuge in the Big Dark Swamp, is currently up for reauthorization. The act prohibits the building of roads or cutting of old growth trees in the swamp, though it permits hunting. Many blamed logging activities for the decline of the bird population, especially that of the dappled grackle. The grackle population has continued to decline since the passage of the law, demonstrating that the Gordon Act has not been sufficient to protect the species. Another nearby refuge, the Wayne County Marsh Habitat, bans all mining, logging, and hunting. Wayne County officials have not reported a decline in the grackle population there. This proves that hunting, not logging, was responsible for the population drop in Broomall County. Thus, Broomall County should not reauthorize the Gordon Act unless it is amended to include the same provisions as those in Wayne County.

The editorial claims that with a ban on hunting, the decrement in the grackle population can be controlled; hence calling for a major amendment in the Gordon Act. But the statement cannot be fully supported since there appears few fallacies that question the argument.

Firstly, the species of Grackle inhabiting into the two different locations- Broomall County and Wayne County might have different habitual characteristics

The ecosystem at Broomall County could be different to the ecosystem at Wayne County. The environment at Broomall County might be way more hostile, primarily due to difficult topography or a higher population of predators of Grackle in that area. With the ban on hunting, the present population of the

Gradle may be preserved, but this in no way guarantees that the surviving population may flourish in that region.

Secondly, the argument claims that a ban on hunting is sufficient to preserve the Grackle population, whereas logging activity possess no threat on the survival of the species. This shows a major flaw in the argument, as a ban on just hunting would not suffice to creating a more comfortable environment for the Grackles. The Wayne County officials have not even considered the possiblity of mining as a potential cause for such decrease. A complete ban on hunting might be a good step towards conserving these faunas, while a blatant ignorance to the extent of damage caused by the mining and logging activity might result in even higher dip in the population of Grackles.

Lastly, the argument claims that the Gordon Act after its amendment, would be followed with the same sincerity as the people of Wayne County. It is highly possible that the reason for the decreasing Grackle population is logging. But, despite a ban on logging, the stubborn people of Broomall County, with no respect to the laws on conservation of faunas, have resulted in such deaths. Even after imposing such ban on hunting and logging, people still might not follow the law. Hence, it would be presumptions to state that ban on hunting and logging would fix the issue, as the extent of law enforcement at these two different places may vastly vary.

Hence, it can be concluded that while ban on hunting seems to be a positive step toward conservation of the Grackle population, it would be imprudent to assume that such amendment would guarantee thier absolute survival. The claim calls for a broader research on other variables as well before jumping into conclusions.