The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Many people believe that a society will prosper if people are instilled with the feeling of cooperation, and not promote competition while moving move forward in life. They believe, since young people are the future of the world, their young minds should be implanted with values invoking the feeling of cooperation. I, however, would like to respectfully disagree with this notion, as I believe people learn to explore their true potential way more when they are exposed under a competing environment than when they are working in a protective bubble of cooperation.

Various competition and games that many schools and colleges conduct and promote are the obvious examples of how competition elevates a child's potential. Be it getting the highest score in exams, or the winning trophy in an art competition, these competing environments paired with rewards for success encourage children to bring out the best in themselves. These children with their unlocked potential and zeal to outdo themselves are indeed capable of performing excellently in any field in the near future.

While the earlier stage of life - childhood - might appear quite easy, there is no debate in the fact that the real world out there will be full of every sort of people trying to gain opportunity, Let's look at the presidential election of US. The cutthroat election campaign tests the utmost patience and potential of an individual. The opponent candidates are likely to resort to any and every form of action ranging from fake allegations to procuring false data to vilify the opponent, in order to guarantee the win on own's side. Such environment demands the skill of maintaining calm and composure, and still performing excellently which can be attained only if the candidate already has a skill of excelling on a competitive environment. The value of cooperation in such scenario might appear as a naive and unsuccessful attempt at winning.

Similar is the case in the world of industry. We all are quite known about the dog-eat-dog world of industry. The rivalry between Coca-cola and Pepsi dates way back. Only the company that is capable of bringing out the best product with best marketing strategy will succeed in this era. So, a child should know how to excel at his/her respective field by outdoing the rest competitors.

In conclusion, it would be better to raise a child by instilling him/her with the sense of competition. But, he/she should also be taught the importance of healthy competition, and the need to respect the competitors. People should not ignore their ethical responsibility while trying to achieve success. A dirty competition might guarantee the win, but will take the society backward.