Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Digital technologies (for example, computers and smartphones) have improved the quality of communication between people. Use reasons and examples to explain your answer.

Many people agree that a significant achievement of the 21st century is the advancement in digital technologies such as computers and smartphones. These digital technologies have helped to improve almost each and every sector, including the communication. The quality of communication has shore to new heights after introduction of these affordable, as well as portable devices. And, I completely agree with this notion as per expressed in the statement.

Firstly, the digital technologies have made it possible for people to communicate from any part of the world. A person in Nigeria can very easily video call a person in India. These smartphones, tablets, and computers have indeed transformed this world into a global village. Today, no corner in the world is inaccessible, and every piece of information can be delivered to any city or village in a second. In the past. people used to communicate via letters, either through mail or even birds. Such measures used to take days and months for the message to be received. These methods also had quite a poor reliability of job completion. But the digital technologies have provided us with a faster message transmission system, with far more guarantee of successful communication.

Similarly, another contribution of these digital devices in the field of communication is their easy affordability. Previously, people used to rely on telephone or other call services, which used to charge a high rate for establishing communication. But, today, these devices, along with the internet accessibility, people are able to talk, as well as see their near and dear ones at astonishingly cheap rates. The computers and smartphones are themselves available at affordable price range, in contrast to the super-computers of initial decades that costed a huge money.

Lastly, the digital technologies are introducing new features and apps day by day, to provide people with a better communication experience. Netflix, a movie streaming app, is an example of this as it has a feature of watching movie together, despite people living in different coordinates. Online classes is another such example of digital technologies contributing for communication, whose importance we all got to realize during the Covid-19 pandemic.

In a nut-shell, the contribution of digital technologies in improving the quality of communication is quite obvious in today's day and age. Communication between people has become a lot more easier, affordable, faster, and more interesting with new features being added everyday. Indeed, digital technologies are a cornerstone in the field of communication.