“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.”

The presented argument appears to be relatively sound at the first glance. The complaints from viewers as well as cancellation of the advertisements from local businesses hint that the issue might be fixed with restoring the previous time schedule devoted to weather and local news. However, with closer inspection on the issue, it is quite obvious to see that the argument is rather unconvincing; given the fallacies in the logic.

Firstly, the argument assumes that the cancellation of advertisement from local businesses is due to less time dedicated to weather and local news. It isn't quite clear what led to such cancellation. The reason might be due to local business shifting to other form of advertising, and not merely due to less broadcasting of weather and local news. Hence, it would be quick to jump into this conclusion without doing a proper research on what led to such cancellation.

Secondly, the argument claims that the time duration of the local news and weather coverage is the reason for the complains. It is possible that the viewer's complaint about the coverage of weather and local news might not be for the duration of broadcasting. Even with increased time for the local news and weather, the viewers might not be pleased with the results; specifically if the problem lies in the way the news are presented or the quality and credibility of the news.

Similarly, the argument ignores the possibility of losing viewers from national news if the time devoted to national news is decreased. A larger dip in the viewers might occur while doing so, that would eventually lead to cancelling of even more advertising contracts. The argument fails to acknowledge the impact that would be caused on existing viewers of national news, if such restoration to previous time is applied.

Overall, the argument is not strong enough to conclude that increasing screen-time for local news and weather will guarantee in reducing the viewers' complaints, as well as stop the declining advertisement contracts. Before any final decisions are made about restoration of former timing, much work is left for the arguer to improve the logic and cogency of the argument. The argument can be strengthened by a proper research in finding out the root cause for such complaints and decline. This would help in developing a comparatively solid foundation for the argument.