A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

In today's world, almost every college requires an individual to acquire a basic level of education as standard criteria of qualification. Though many nations believe that such school level education requires the schools to follow a common curriculum to all the students, I, however would like to respectfully disagree with this notion. Applying the same national curriculum to all the students of an educational institution strips away their liberty to follow their interest; hence limiting their actual potential and leading to production of below average human resources for the nation.

When every students are fed the same national curriculum without allowing them any options to choose for themselves, they would be forced to follow even those subjects that has their least possible enthusiasm. This would lead to performing poorly on such subjects, while suppressing their actual passions they have for the subjects of their liking. That's why, the educational institutions of USA allows variety of options to choose for students in the form of electives. This encourages students to pursue their passions, as well as their dreams.

It is an evident fact that schools are indeed a preparatory stage for those students that opt for higher level education in colleges and university. Therefore, when we allow different students to select curriculum of their own preference, we are also assisting them in gathering as much helpful knowledge as that they can, that would be beneficial for them in colleges. There appears no benefit in forcing students to take up subjects that provide no substantial advantage for them in their college life.

Similarly, taking away the right to choose curriculum for oneself results in college feeding information to students about the subject they have no interest in. This results in the students taking up the courses just for the sake of grades. Such practice clearly is a waste of resources, since such forceful uptake of information leads to no good. Also, the young creative minds are also at loss, which would have flourished if they had been given knowledge on the subject that they prefer.

Hence, it is quite important for nations to have options of school curriculum that would allow students to choose the subjects for themselves. Such freedom of choosing their own curriculum is necessary to build a generation of strong human resources who know what they want and hence have acquired knowledge on the field of their own interests.