"According to a survey last year of parents who purchased the Elkie, our most popular doll, 90 percent reported that although their children were extremely satisfied with the doll's features, the doll quickly wore out with use. In a follow-up survey of the same parents, 80 percent reported that they would recommend a more durable version of the doll to their friends. In response to these surveys, we have created the Elkie-Advanced Doll, which has similar features to the original Elkie Doll but is manufactured using the same higher quality materials used by Optima Doll Manufacturing, our most successful competitor. Because parents can now purchase the beloved Elkie doll and be sure that it won't quickly wear out with use, we predict that our profits will exceed those of Optima Doll Manufacturing this year.

The presented argument appears to be relatively sound at the first glance, because the survey along with the follow up survey do indicate that people are content with the features of the doll Elkie, and would prefer the doll in a more durable form. This intimation hint to a higher sales number if the durability of the Elkie doll is improved. However, with a closer inspection on the issue, it is quite obvious to see that this argument is rather unconvincing, given the obvious fallacies in the logic.

First, the argument assumes that the people involved in the survey and the follow up survey are the true representative fraction of the target customers of the doll industry. There is a possibility that they might not sincerely represent the population of target customers. Hence, when a new advanced Elkie doll will be launched, the target customers might not buy the product; they might have a different preference and priority while purchasing dolls.

Similarly, the argument claims to increase the profit in Primo Doll Manufacturing by using a durable material with higher quality while continuing the similar advanced features that its predecessor had. But, incorporation of a higher quality material with advanced feature suggests a very high manufacturing cost. To earn a higher profit, the company will eventually have to increase their selling price that might make the customers hesitant in buying the doll. If they choose to continue with the same price, there is no guarantee that there would be skyrocketing high sales that ensures more profit even with lower profit margin.

Thirdly, the surveys were conducted last year and the Primo Doll Manufacturing Inc plan to launch their Elkie-Advanced Doll after a whole year. They plan to compete with their competitor Optima Doll manufacturing with the assumption that they have not made any improvements to their product. This leaves much room for discussion since there is a very high possibility that the Optima Doll Manufacturing may produce even better product, that would make the market even more competitive. Therefore, it would be quite imprudent to assume that their competitors would simply continue with their old products, and they can easily gather the expected profit.

Overall, the argument is not strong enough to conclude that improving the durability of the dolls would guarantee higher profit. Before any final decisions are made, proper market research about the product features of all their competitors should be done. Much work is left for the arguer to improve the logic and cogency of the argument. The argument can be strengthened by a guarantee that the survey population are the true representative population of the actual customers. Also, the manufacturing cost of the doll after improving its durability should be well-considered before drawing any conclusion. All of these adjustments would provide the argument with solid foundation.