The following memorandum is from the president of Primo Doll Manufacturing, Inc.

"According to a survey last year of parents who purchased the Elkie, our most popular doll, 90 percent reported that although their children were extremely satisfied with the doll's features, the doll quickly wore out with use. In a follow-up survey of the same parents, 80 percent reported that they would recommend a more durable version of the doll to their friends. In response to these surveys, we have created the Elkie-Advanced Doll, which has similar features to the original Elkie Doll but is manufactured using the same higher quality materials used by Optima Doll Manufacturing, our most successful competitor. Because parents can now purchase the beloved Elkie doll and be sure that it won't quickly wear out with

use, we predict that our profits will exceed those of Optima Doll Manufacturing this year."

According to the memorandum from the president of Primo Doll Manufacturing, Inc states that the profit of their product would exceed those of the competitor if they start using the same higher quality of materials which the competitor does. The argument has rest on series of assumptions which are unpersuasive and logically incorrect. Few of the key factors to prove it would be:

First, the argument claims that 90 percent of their customer complain that the product was satisfactory but it broke down to soon. There are many reasons for the break-down of a product like the children might be using the product in a very ruff manner or it might also happen that the children are not taking proper care of the doll. Unless, the proper data is not given due to which a doll is breaking down, it would be difficult to conclude that there is a quality issue in the product.

Secondly, the argument has provided different facts and figures after a survey was taken. It might happen that the survey was done by an organization which is not affliated with the manufacturing company, it might also happen that the method which the survey has followed might be different, so the results have come according to it. Unless, the argument provides us with the fact that the survey was done by a legit organization and the method used was also appropriate, it would be difficult to accept the results.

Thirdly, there can be many different reasons why the Optima manufacturing is earning a higher profit than the Primo manufacturing. For instance, it could happen that the product which the Optima is selling is at a cheaper rate and the product overall is built in a stronger manner. It could also happen that the Optima company is marketing their product more compare to Primo. It could also happen that the children prefer the product which the Optima is selling compare to Primo. If the Primo comoany increase the quality of the product than the cost of manufactuiring would also increase and this would affect the profits. So, just by increasing the quality of the product the Primo company cannot grantee that their profit would increase.

In conclusion, the Primo doll manufacturing might see an increment in their profit if they increase their quality, but this is not sure. The prediction lies on different assumptions like whether the cost would remain the same as the competitor, how famous is the product among the children than the product of Optima, and many more. So, first the Primo company should look at the different factors before deciding to increase the quality of the product.