Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The author concludes that the Palean basket are not unique to Palea village. To support his claim, the author gave an example, about how the archaeologists have found the Palean basket in the Lithos village. This argument is not persuasive as it assumes lots of things.

Firstly, the author claims that the Paleans could not a crossed the Brim river are it was very deep and broad and to cross them they would need boats. It might happen that due to natural calamity like floods ,the boats which were in the river would have sailed away and they archaeologists may have not found it. It could also happen that the boat could be broken and the wood have been destroyed or buried into the soil.

Secondly, it could have happen that there could be a bater system between the Lithos and Palea. In bater system the village used to trade by giving one thing from their village in exchange of other. Unless, a strong proof is that there was no relation between the two village the author cannot claim that the baskets were not unique to Palea village.

Thirdly, it could happen that due to some natural disaster the woven basket from the Palea village have been transported to the Lithos village. The author has not mention how many woven basket have they found in the Lithos village. If the only one or two were present than it could be due to some natural calamity.

Fourthly, it could have happen that the Brim river would only be deep during the monsoon and during the summer it would not be so much deep. The author has not mention that during which months the river were deep, we cannot assume that it was deep all round the year. It could be a case that during summer the water was not deep and the people could have cross it without the help of a boat.

Unless, the author gives us proof about all the possibility which were discuss earlier are wrong, it would not be right to accept the authors' claim, about the woven basket, that they were not unique to Palea village. To make author points stronger, the author should provide us with stronger examples and facts