Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the author concludes that xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx. To justify his conclusion, the author states that xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.

Nevertheless, this argument is specious on several grounds since the author has failed to provide sufficient evidence to substantiate his conclusion. First, the author needs to examine xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx to evaluate his assumption that xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.

xxx

Consequently, we must reject the assertion that xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx. Conversely, to strengthen his statement, the author has to prove that xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.

Second, even if xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx, more evidence revealing the xxxxxxx would help the author ascertain xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx,

As a result, the situation weakens the author’s claim that xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx. In contrast, to bolster his assertion, the author has to guanartee xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.

Third, granted that xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx, additional evidence about other possibilities that xxxxxxxxxx gains great significance to xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.

In these cases, it is unlikely that xxxxxxxxxxxx, which eventually reinforces his claim.

In sum, the evidence that the author quotes does not provide conclusive information about xxxxxxxxxxxxx. As a result, we demand additional information to better evaluate the author’s claim that xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.