In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the author concludes that the government needs to raise the budget for riverside recreational facilities in Mason River. To justify his conclusion, the author states that the use of Mason River for water sports will surely increase due to the city plans of cleaning up Maon River.

However, this argument is specious on various grounds since the author has failed to provide sufficient evidence to substantiate his conclusion. First, the author needs to evaluate whether or not the action of cleaning up Maon River makes it a qualified place for water sports. Maon River can be quite smelly and of bad quality according to complaints from residents, and a plan of cleaning up Mason River doesn't guanartee that it would be suitable for water sports after actions are done, because water sports have a really high standard for the water quality. If the cleaning up plan doesn't improve greatly, it is possible that this river is still inappropriate for water sports. Consequently, we must reject the assertion that the use of the river for water sports will definitely increase. Conversely, to strengthen his argument, the author needs to prove that this plan of cleaning up water is sufficient to make the river a suitable one for water sports.

Second, even if this plan of cleaning up the river water improves water quality greatly, more evidence revealing the water quality comparison between Mason River and other rivers for water sports would help the author ascertain that Mason River can attract some players as imagined. People might have been familier with organizing water sport events, such as swimming, boating and fishing, in other rivers with high standard water quality. They will compare the water quality of the original river and the Maon River before deciding whether to switch places or not. Only if the water quality of Mason River is evidently better than these original rivers, the organizers get the motivation of turning to Mason River for future events. As a result, the situation weakens the author's claim that there will surely be an increase in the use for recreational activities. In contrast, to bolster his assertion, the author has to guanartee that the water quality of Mason River is good enough to attract players and residents.

Third, granted that the water quality of Mason River is good enough, additional evidence about other possibilities that the increase of this budget wouldn't harm other water recreational activities gains significant importance to strengthing the author's claim. Sometimes as the whole budget of the government is limited, increasing one input would affect another one. In this case, the author needs to prove that we could increase the budget for Mason River without having negative impacts on the normal routines of other rivers which hold water activities, such as lack of money. In these cases, it is unlikely that increasing budget for facilities around Mason River wouldn't affect other rivers' activities, which eventually reinforces his claim.

In sum, the evidence that the author quotes does not provide conclusive information about the necessity of increasing the imput of riverside recreational facilities. As a result, we demand additional information to better evaluate the author's claim.