The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The political system has long been a hot topic along with the rapid development of the society. A seemingly reasonable proposal is that when the majority of people within the society start to question authority, the overall well-being of the society will be enhanced. However, several consequences are likely to render the perspective immature.

Admittedly, we can't ignore the benefit of a society with sufficient questioning voices. Sometimes when the public tend to follow everything the government says, it would easily lead to dictatorship in which the leader possesses excessive power. If he makes some mistakes, it can be rather hard to correct them. By contrast, a society which disagrees authority could have more open platforms for people to contribute different ideas and opinions, and the wisdom of the whole society would lead to more reasonable strategy of the whole society, which creates more well-being for the overall people. Besides, if a resident can easily express his thoughts and sometimes have his or her thoughts being adapted by leaders, he would get a sense of achievement, which turns to well-being and motivates him or her to work harder and create more value. In this way we get a positive cycle which benefits everyone.

However, this phenomenon can easily make the society instable, thus resulting in severe consequences. It is worth noticing that there are some people within the society who have anti-society personalities, and they wish to turn a peaceful rally into a violence against the political system. If many people within the society are used by these anti-social people, they might simply ask no authority without knowing that actually they're making the society instable. An instable society has far more disadvantages than a society with socalled authority, because people can't even live peacefully, let alone well-being. People should know well that they are really questioning authority and they make no harm to the country before starting the action, but in reality it is hard to control their behavior.

To be honest, the society will be in its best condition if there is a reasonable portion of people who question authority. It would be the best if the government is accepting voices from public, and all public opinions get treated in time. In this way people's questions will not accumulate and result in the situation that the majority "question" the authority. In the same time, people's suggestions still contribute to the development of the society, and thus the overall well-being is increased. Therefore, this is the best case for the whole society.

In conclusion, considering the advantage of letting people's voices being heard by leaders, the phenomenon of the majority of people questioning authority seems beneficial for the social well-being. However, owing to the possible consequences this behavior would lead to, I am in the opinion that this would not enhance the social well-being.