The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Society is made of different types of people. Some might argue that by creating a sense of competition among young people, is the best way to prepare them for leadership role in different sectors like government, industries, or other fields. While other may feel that the best practise is to promote cooperation. I believe that a mixture of both cooperation and competition would help a person to be a great leader. My point of view would be explain in the following essay.

A person becomes a good leader when he is a good listner. To become a good listner one should be patient, and listen to all the ideas and suggestions which are presented in front of him. The leader should not differentiate among the people from which the idea or suggestion is coming. To achieve all this a person should be cooperative with his peers and team members. For instance, imagine there are two leaders, leader A and leader B. Leader A is cooperative and follows horizontal chain of command. He always listens to different ideas and suggestion which are presented in front of him irrespective of the person who is delivering. While leader B is not cooperative and follows vertical chain of command, and he rejects the ideas and suggestion which are presented in front of him. He insist that the work should be done by the method he has told and no other. In the end the team led by leader A would be better compare to team led by leader B, as in team of leader A was open to discussion so ideas got exchange and the most optimal and best idea was selected. While this was not a case in team B.

By following cooperation there are many advantages like, team bonding is better, communication is better, profits are more for the company. Cooperation is also beneficial for the different indutries as well as in goverement. If the leader of a political party is cooperative and listens to the complains which are presented in front of him by the residents of the society, then this helps to increase trust and believility of the leader among the people.

However, a competition is also needed for growth and success of an individual. Competition helps to motivate people to achieve higher goals and work more then usual to deafeat his or her competitor. For instance, if there is a healty competition among two friends that who would score more in an exam. So, this competition would motivate both the persons to stay on track and not get diverted. They would study with much greater determination to deafet the other person and in the end both friends marks would increase.

In conclusion, a mixture of cooperation and having a healty competiton would be the best way to teach young people to become a leader in different sectors. This approach would help an individual to be a better individual.