Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Claiming an individual as a hero is a very subjective matter and a complex one. It is very difficult to define whether an individual should be represented as a hero or not. Here the statement claims that, it is no longer possible for the society to accept any individual as a hero because on the close observation by the media the reputation of that individual would diminished. I do not agree with the aforementioned claim and here are the few key factors to prove it.

First, a society would called or identify an individual as a hero if they have done something great in their field. The field could be anything from sports, education, research, politics, and many more. A society accepts an individual as a hero when they feel motivated from their work and it creats a sense of excitement in them. In cricket, for example, the opener batsmen of the Indian Cricket team Sachin Tendulkar, is often considered as a hero by many aspiring crickters. Sachin Tendulkar is also famous by the name of 'Master Blaster' due to his many records like hundred centuries in his carrer, one of the youngest player to play for the Indian team and many more.

Eventhough, Sachin Tendulkar has retired more than five years now, society still remembers him as a hero who help India to win the world cup. There are so many other examples in the course of history where people have considered an individual as a hero. If an individual is genuiene and truly loved by the society then any backlash on the reputation that individual would not bother the love given that individual by the society. For instance, the actor Shah Rukh Khan has come in media for many controversy topics, like hiting a staff member during an event. Even after such an event the reputation and the fan following which he has didn't reduce.

I am not dening that all the bad quality of an individual would be accepted by the society even if they are famous. If on a close scrutinity, it comes that the individual is wrong than the society would not forget him. For instance, Srikant a fast bolwer in the Indian team, who was also a member of 2011 world cup and he was also hail an hero by the society, as he contributed in wining the world cup, but when the news of his match fixing came, people were very angry with him. The society even banned him from playing cricket for life-time.

In conclusion, if an individual has good qualities and is geneuine then the society would accept the individual. Not denying, one mistake would take all the hard earn reputation away. It is a age of media where not a person is safe from the eyes of media and they reputaion depends on how it is represented.