The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette."On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

In the letter to the editor of the Balmer island concludes that to reduce the number of annual accidents due to moped, the number of rental should be reduce by half during the summer season. To arrive at such a conclusion the letter mention that the neighboring island of Seaville were able to reduce the accident by limiting the rentals, so the letter suggest that the town council of Balmer island should also do the same. The argument rest on series of assumptions which are unpersuasive and logically incorrect. Let me put fort few key factors to prove it. Firstly, the letter claims that by reducing the rental of mopeds from 50 to 25 per day the accidents would also reduce. It could also happen that the accidents due to mopeds are cause by the mopeds which are owned by the citizen and not by the mopeds which are given on rentals. It might happen that the accident could be caused due to the mistake of the pedestrian like they could have cross the road without checking for the traffic. Without knowing the exact reason why the accidents are caused, to conclude that they are caused by the rental moped would not be right. Secondly, the letter claims that the neighbor island of Seaville was able to reduce the number of accidents by reducing the rental mopeds. It could be possible that the town council of Seaville could have provided some other mode of transportation which is cheaper than the moped, so that the citizen of Seaville island have stop the used of moped. Unless, the government of the Balmer island does not provide an other mode of transportation, it is difficult to say that the citizen of the island would shift from the used mopeds and the reduction in the accidents due to it could not reduce. Thirdly, the letter claims that the government should only reduce the rentals of mopeds during the summer season. It could have happen that the accidents in the summer are less than the accidents that happen in other seasons. The letter has not provided any kind of proof that the number of accidents in the summer season are higher than any other season of the year. Unless, a proper data is not provided it would be wrong to assume that the number of accidents in the summer are highest. In conclusion, if the town council of Balmer island also wants to reduce the moped accidents by 50 percent than it should first check the different reasons due to which the accidents are being caused and are these accidents caused due to rental mopeds or not. Just by copying the method which Seaville island and not analyzing the effect of this on the island would be illogical and not right to do so.