The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the letter puts forth some seemingly valid points but his entire reasoning as a whole seems to be rife with holes and inconsistencies. The entire argument is based on assumptions made about the popularity of rented mopeds, baseless statistics and another town's actions. The town council would have to consider a number of questions and evaluate these thoroughly before actually implementing the recommendation.

The author states that the population rises to 100,000 in the summer months. This may indeed be a fact but it is unknown since no source is quoted in the letter for this particular number, so this claim must be verified. Also, an increase in population does not necessarily mean an increase in number of mopeds used. Perhaps an alternative form of transport is used, such as public buses, or even walking. Whatever the case may be, a detailed trend analysis must be carried out to see how population increase, if any, affects moped usage. When patterns of usage are determined a decision can be made on limiting the number of mopeds on the roads.

The author states that mopeds are a popular form of transport. While this may be true, popular is a subjective term and could quite literally mean anything. There is no backing to prove that most people in the town use mopeds as their primary form of transport. Mopeds may be most commonly used by some section of residents or tourists and this is one of the questions that the council would have to find the answer to. If the council can determine how popular the use of mopeds is it will be able to evaluate the situation better.

The author seems to believe that all the mopeds used by the general population are rented, but perhaps some section of the people own their own mopeds. If this is true, then limiting the number of rentals need not bring about any kind of a reduction in the number of these vehicles that are on the streets of Balmer Island during the summer months. It must be determined by the town council whether the majority of the people rent or own mopeds. Also, it is not necessary that by reducing the number of mopeds on the streets, the number of accidents will drastically fall. There will still be a substantial number of mopeds and pedestrians, and one careless rider can do more damage that four careful riders. This must also be taken into consideration by the town council before any decisions are made.

Although it seems like the author has put forth some valid points about the number of accidents in summer and their reduction, it is necessary that the town council consider all the related questions before taking any decision on the matter. So it seems unlikely that any immediate action will be taken based on one recommendation by the author, but on investigating the matter further perhaps the council can decide on the best course of action.