Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Laws, by deddfinition are set of written rules and regulations that ensure a successful clockwork functioning of a country consisting of a huge number of people. These are made after numerous consultations by a varied range of experts representing an entire country’s population and are supposed to be strictly followed by one and all within the country without exception. These laws help in the smooth functioning of a country by avoiding a stalemate in a situation where different representatives of a diverse population demand different things, and the whims of one person may impinge upon the wishes of another.

The statement propounds a society where it is each individual’s responsibility to follow just laws and protest against unjust laws. This is an extremely crucial policy for the success of a state, as it ensures the accountability of the government as well as prevents unfair treatment or exploitation of any member of the society.

Many a times blinded by prejudices or stereotypes, the decision makers might come up with laws that are deleterious to a section of this society. For example, before the protests of the black community led by Nelson Mandela, there were laws in America that relegated the state of black people to slaves. This form of racial discrimination was detrimental for the Blacks and stymied their growth and success in the society. Only after widespread and continued protests against such laws were they abolished, and the people of color were given equal rights by the constitution as the white skinned counterparts.

Similarly in East Asian countries like India, Bangladesh and Pakistan there was the existence of the caste system made by the people in power which denied people of lower castes equal rights as those of the upper castes. This marginalized section of the community were denied equal opportunities in education or employment, which often led them to fall prey to a vicious cycle of poverty and lead impecunious lives. Thus protesting against such laws were the need of the hour and only after prolonged movements against such practices were they abolished.

A lot of states even in the current scenario, have certain laws that discriminate against a certain section of the society, like some states in America making laws against abortion or Article 377 in the Indian Constitution that criminalized homosexuality. Only after continued resistance were these laws abolished as recently as 2018. Protests against declaration of abortion as illegal are also being demonstrated since the past few years in several states of America, while some states have relinquished the laws, the others are yet to do so.

Thus it is extremely important that an individual raises his voice against unjust laws. If people continue to follow all laws blindly, it will lead to the shift of power being completely in the hands of the decision makers without them having to be accountable for anything. It would ultimately cause the misuse of power by those in position and obstruct the well being of those in the society.

Hence only when there is some form of resistance against unjust laws, provided that resistance is for the amelioration of a certain section of the society and not to an individual only, can there be a change in the society and true progress and growth can be achieved.