Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

While the author puts forward some seemingly valid points in order to support her prediction of students eventually bringing less healthy foods due to the present cafeteria vendor serving low fat, low calorie meals, and hence, there being serious health consequences for the Kensington students, this argument is rife with holes and inconsistencies. While the co relations made seem logical and probable , several related questions need to be asked. Only after analyzing their answers can we make a decision regarding the prediction.

Firstly, the author reports that their son and a few of his friends complained regarding the school cafeteria serving low-fat, low-calorie options, but it is not specified exactly how many students out of the entire lot had the same complain. Is it only their son and a few of his friends who complained about this, and the rest of the students are acquiescent with the decision? In such a case it would be entirely wrong to make the prediction that most students would start bringing their own less healthy lunch meals eventually which would lead to serious health consequences for them. Hence, only when we know the percentage of students who are actually complaining about the healthy options being served can we evaluate the situation better.

Building on this, the author also suggests that, due the being unhappy with the low fat, low calorie meals being served in the school cafeteria, all the students will eventually start bringing their own less healthier options to lunch instead of eating the cafeteria food. But it is not known whether every student in Kensington Academy actually has the ability to do so. It is highly probable that a lot of the students have working parents who are not able to pack a lunch for them everyday and hence count on their child eating the cafeteria food. Also some students may not be able to afford bringing food from outside everyday and might rely on the food provided by the school for free or at subsidized rates. Hence, in order to determine whether truly the children will start bringing their own, less healthy lunch options instead of eating cafeteria food, we need to know if they have the ability or funds to do so.

The author also states that the food company serves low-fat, low-calorie lunch options that the students do not find enjoyable and thus if not replaced by a different vendor the students would bring their own less healthier lunch options to school. But the author does not mention the kind of food that the other vendors would be serving. It is quite possible that the other vendors serve food that is not low fat but also is not tasty. That would end up with the same result of the students not eating the cafeteria food. Also the author does not mention the whether the food served by Swift nutrition is tasty or not. If so, inspite of being low calorie, the food will be quite enjoyable to the students. Hence determining this will help in evaluating the situation better.

The author then says that low-fat, low-calorie meals are being served by the present cafeteria incharge, but he does not specify if only such healthy meals are being served or there are other less healthier items, or junk and packaged food available too. If that would be the case then the students would not resort to getting their own lunch and gladly enjoy some less healthier options if they wish to do so.

Therefor, after evaluating all the related factors and angles according to me the prediction made by the author can not be justified immediately. Several other related questions need to be answered first, after which a decision on the matter can be take.