A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

While the author offers an interesting proposal of dental care not being helpful in preventing tooth decay, the argument is rife with holes and inconsistencies. The co relations made may be probable but there can be several other explanations for the conclusion obtained by the author. There may be several other factors due to which the children living in the Himalayan region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than the children living in suburban areas of the United States despite receiving less professional dental care than them.

Firstly, the author reports that the children of the Himalayan region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than the children living in suburban areas of the United States based of a recent study. But the author does does not specify the validity, reliability or scope of the study. We do not know the number of children from Nepal or United States that were observed as a part of the study. We also do not know the durations for which they were observed, or the particular tooth conditions that they were tested for. It is highly possible that the study was not representative of the entire or majority population of the children in the Himalayan region of Nepal or the Suburban Areas of the united states. If only a handful of children were observed to deduce conclusions in this study it is highly possible that its inferences are wrong and actually the majority of children who receive dental care have lesser tooth decay than those who don't. In such a condition the conclusion drawn of regular dental care not being helpful in preventing tooth decay will be completely refuted.

The author simply states that the children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay, but does not mention anything about their lifestyle or eating habits. It is extremely probable that the children in Nepal do not eat huge quantities of sweet food items resulting in a much slower rate of tooth decay. If the children in the suburban areas of the United states do consume a lot of sweets then that is probably the reason why they experience higher levels of tooth decay than the children in Nepal despite receiving more professional dental care. Hence, we can not reach the conclusion of regular dental care not being helpful in preventing tooth decay without knowing about the eating habits of all the children involved in the study.

Also, the author in his argument says that the children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite receiving less professional dental care. But it is probable that the lower levels of tooth decay in the study were found due to a lot of cases of tooth decay being unreported in the Himalayan region of Nepal due to them receiving little to no professional dental care. In actuality the children in Nepal might be suffering from tooth decay in a much higher number than the children in United states. hence the notion that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay will not hold true in such a case.

The author also does not talk about the dental hygiene practices followed by the children in the Himalayan region of Nepal. These children might be using a lot of dental products that are more beneficial than the once used by the people in suburban areas in the United States such as organic toothpastes etc. Their ayurvedic toothpastes formulated using local herbs might help slow down the rate of tooth decay in children

Thus, after reviewing the several factors involved, i can not agree with the recommendation made by the author. There might be a lot of rival explanations as mentioned that contradicts the author's statement.