A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

When looking at the recent study on the tooth decay issue among children living in different areas of the world, it is interesting that children living in the mountain regions have lower levels of tooth decays compared to the children living in suburban areas. In fact, the people in the Himalayan mountain region don't have access to professional dental care like those in suburban areas do. With the findings provided by the study, the author of the argument concluded that dental care does not help in preventing tooth decay. I believe that the argument is flawed and there are other explanations that could lead to the children in Nepal having lower levels of tooth decay.

First of all, one of the biggest issue people who live in suburban areas in the United States are suffering from is the amount of sweets and processed foods they're exposed to. Sweets and processed foods are two of the major contributors to tooth decay, especially in children. Although some may argue that parents make sure children brush their teeth before going to bed, it is not enough to completely prevent tooth decay since the chemicals or substances may till be lingering on one's teeth. In stark contrast to the children who are exposed to sweets and processed foods, the children living in mountain regions may not be exposed to those on the daily basis and are limited to the amount they could receive. Considering that, it is natural that the children living in the Himalayan mountain region, even with little to no professional dental care, have lower levels of tooth decay compared to those living in suburban areas in the United States. Therefore, the type of food intake may be play a bigger role in preventing tooth decay than regular dental care.

Secondly, another explanation that could be valid and debunk the proposed argument is that the nutrients received by the children living in nature may be different than those living in suburban areas in the United States. For example, the amount of calcium, vitamin D, vitamin A, and more, may be more significant provided by the animals, plants, and environment in the mountain region. Investigating in this area would bring additional insights to further understand the causes and preventions of tooth decay.

In conclusion, although the argument is supported by the facts from a recent study, the conclusion is not complete and is lacking other explanations. By considering the food intake and nutrient levels received by the children living in the mountain regions, one might be able to explain why those children have lower levels of tooth decay than those living in suburban areas. It is not entirely related to the frequency of dental care, but more about the causes of tooth decay.