Schools should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

School is where students go to acquire knowledge and skills they need to succeed. Most schools provide basic academic studies such as English, Writing, Math, and Foreign Language classes. Some schools go beyond that and offer after school programs to support students with areas of passion including Sports, Music, and Art. However besides the classes and programs mentioned above, there are crucial skills that students need once they go off to college and work in the real world. Therefore, schools should provide more learning opportunities for students to take part in to better prepare them for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

One important skill a person needs throughout their adulthood is public speaking. This skill is needed when presenting ideas or proposals to others and speaking in front of a group of people. Although some may argue that this skill could be obtained outside of school, having the environment to learn and practice makes a huge difference in improving one’s public speaking skills. For example, a student can find videos online and practice speaking in front of the mirror. However, this doesn’t give the student real life experiences and feedback from others. If schools are able to provide a class or program that provides students with professional guidance and space to practice, students will be more confident and equipped for future presentations or public speaking opportunities.

Another skill that is beneficial for one to have during their adulthood is the ability to manage stress. This skill is needed in every stage of adulthood. Schools should teach students how to identify and tackle stress to prepare them for their future, especially in college and work life. A lot of students enter college with no prior stress management knowledge and struggle to do well in classes. If they learned the ways to deal with stress, it would be much easier for them to succeed.

Schools should offer opportunities for students outside of the academic fields to learn important skills such as public speaking and stress management in order to set them up for success in adulthood. Students will be more prepared for the real world and move through obstacles with strategies and experiences obtained in school.