The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn out, and the city council reasons that since LED lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase, the switch would help Town X save money on electrical costs in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to help evaluate the efficacy of the city council’s proposal to save money on electrical costs. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the council’s prediction.

When making a decision, it is essential to gather as many details as possible before evaluating the proposal. The idea proposed by the city council of Town X is a reasonable one. However, there are some questions that need to be answered in order to evaluate the efficacy of the proposal.

First of all, the city council proposed that switching all lights from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs) would reduce the city’s electric expenses. One of the reasons being that LED lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase. While it is true that if LED lights burn brighter than incandescent bulbs, Town X would need less LED lights installed in public buildings. The question that needs to be answered here is does LED lights last longer than incandescent bulbs? If the answer to this question is yes, then it helps strengthen the argument that Town X would be able to save money on electrical costs in the future since the need to replace them would not be as frequent. On the other hand, if the LED lights do not last longer than incandescent bulbs, then the proposal may be weakened in this case since Town X would have to switch out the light bulbs more often. Although it cost no more to purchase, the increased frequency of light bulbs replacement will not help Town X save money on electric expenses.

Secondly, another important question to raise is how much of the electric expenses will be reduced if Town X moves forward with the city council’s proposal of switching from incandescent bulbs to LED lights? The answer can be represented in a precise amount or a percentage. The important thing to understand here is how much money can Town X save on electrical costs if this proposal is redeemed valid. If the amount or percentage is high, then it would raise the efficacy of the proposal. And the opposite, if the amount or percentage is low, then the efficacy of the proposal would not be very significant. In order to reach the final decision, it is essential to understand and compare data and numbers in order to have better insights and analysis.

In conclusion, it is important for the city council to provide more information on the longevity of the LED lights and how much money Town X would be able to save in the future to evaluate the proposal.