Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A teachers’ ability to teach directly impacts students’ academic performances in school. It has been proven that when a teacher is attentive and engaging in their classes, students will be more likely to excel and obtain knowledge faster. Therefore, the debate of whether or not teachers’ salaries should be based on their students’ academic performance is an ongoing discussion. Although it is true that a teacher’s ability to teach influences a student’s performance, I believe that teachers’ salaries should not be based on their students’ academic performances for a number of reasons. I will be discussing the reasons below.

First of all, a handful of factors can contribute to a student’s academic performance. Their health conditions, family situation, social circle, and ability to retain information are all examples of items that can differentiate a student’s performance from another. If each student performs differently in school, it is difficult and unfair to evaluate the teacher’s salaries based on their students’ performances.

Secondly, a teacher’s salaries should be based on their teaching abilities and the amount of effort and care they put into a class. A student’s academic performance doesn’t reflect a teacher’s abilities. Drawing from a more professional standpoint, teachers’ salaries will be better calculated according to their years of experience, knowledge in the field, and their personalities which can affect the overall atmosphere of the classes.

Nevertheless, some people may argue that if the teachers’ salaries are based on their students’ academic performance, then teachers will have more incentives to work harder. While examining students’ performances may increase a teacher’s drive to teach, it is not the most ideal way to encourage teachers to uphold their responsibilities. Some immoral teachers might look for ways to cheat the system in order to gain a higher salary. Hence, it is best for the school, the students, and the teachers if teachers’ salaries are not based on their student’s academic performance.

In conclusion, due to the number of factors that can lead to a student’s good and poor academic performance, it is challenging to accurately calculate a teacher’s salary based on that. On top of that, a student’s academic performance does not directly reflect a teacher’s teaching abilities. All in all, a teacher’s salaries should be based on their teaching abilities, experiences, and effort instead.