Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

In modern global society, we see that people are becoming more and more creative with their goals in life. This leads to the younger generation wanting to seek fame and recognition rather than pursuing long-term goals. Although there are merits in obtaining immediate fame and recognition, I agree with the statement that young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term goals due to several reasons.

First of all, immediate fame and recognition can lead to complacency and prevent one from working hard. With today’s technology, it is possible for one to share a random video on the internet and wake up with thousands of followers the next morning. Having this in mind, many young people are trying to hop on the bandwagon and gain followings this way. However, this can send the wrong message to the younger generation that success does not require effort. For example, young people who became famous from posting content on TikTok or YouTube overnight were able to gain early success and affluence without having to work hard. After gaining fame and wealth, some become too comfortable and do not feel the need to seek new challenges. Examples like these are not great role models for the younger generations to look up to.

Secondly, people may find shortcuts in order to gain recognition from others. Nevertheless, there could be harmful consequences in the long run. The most common example for this is researchers faking data to achieve the outcome they desire. This would lead to numerous complications if their research results are used in areas that have influence on other people’s lives. Despite the researcher gaining short-term fame, they will soon be disputed with the malpractice and reprimanded for any consequences the false research have caused. Therefore, it is important to educate young people that short-term recognition does not guarantee a secure status later in life. Instead, focusing on long-term goals will bring more fruitful achievements that will last.

Moreover, teaching young people to set long-term goals with smaller sub-goals will help them learn how to plan ahead, allowing them to form good habits in many areas when they grow up to be an adult. If they are taught how to set goals with incremental timelines and steps to achieve them, they will be able to apply that skill later in their career. People who are apt in setting realistic goals and creating plans are more likely to succeed in the future.

All in all, encouraging young people to focus on achieving long-term and realistic goals instead of short-term fame and recognition is more beneficial. It is crucial for people to not feel complacent with early success and seek shortcuts to achieve desired results. More importantly, it is more advantageous that young people learn how to set goals and plans to become successful throughout their lives.