Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Governments provide fundings to fields such as research, art, entertainment, military, etc. Although investing in each field has its own merits, it is important that the government prioritizes the ones that are more essential than others. When looking at the recommendation that "governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military", we should evaluate whether it is a valid and a well-thought one. After considering both sides of the position and with strong reasonings, I disagree with the recommendation and believe that government should instead invest more in the military than they do in the arts.

Some may argue that the arts of a society shapes its culture and is needed to be conserved. While it is true that government should invest in the arts, it shouldn't be allocating equal amounts of funding to the military and the arts. Military should receive more investment since it supersedes the importance of arts in a way that it protects the country. During crisis, if the government doesn't have a strong military base, the country will be in danger. For example, if a country is wanting in military forces and war equipments, the people will be in danger when the country is suffering from attacks. In the case that a country is well-quipped with a full army, guns, bombs, tanks, and shelters, it is prepared for any emergency that it may encounter. With that being said, the military is more essential for governments to prioritize in order to protect the country and its people.

In addition, governments should spend more money in the military simple because military equipments, items, and anything related to guns and special forces are expensive. One aircraft from the air force may cost over five times more than an art piece. Considering that, it is natural for the government to allocate more of its investments into areas that require more expenditures.

All in all, it would be more advantageous for the governments to invest more of its fundings in the military than in the arts for the safety of its people and the cost of being prepared with a strong military force. Despite some preservations of the arts may be costly, it is not anymore when being compared to the equipments needed to protect its people.