A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer.

The knowledge that are taught in school are constantly changing. In a lot of countries, the government and school provides a set of curriculum as examples for teachers to follow. Although following a set of national curriculum may bring some merits to students before they enter college, I believe that a national should not require all of its students to study the same curriculum for several reasons.

First of all, having a set of educational guidelines would help schools and teachers prepare students before they enter college. However, the underlaying question is how strict should the students follow the national curriculum? If a nation requires all students to study the same knowledge, then there will be no diversity in the overall student body. Every student will obtain the same education, thus, no student will be able to learn and share knowledge with each other since they are all taught the same things.

Secondly, it has been proven by research that students tend to excel in the field that they are passionate about. For example, some may be into Language and Art; whereas, others may be more Science and Math focused. If a nation requires all students to take part in the same curriculum, students who wants to focus their studies in Language and Art will not be able to since they need to take classes that are less related to their passion. Therefore, students should be able to choose freely of what they want to study rather than following the same curriculum provided by the nation.

Nevertheless, some may argue that it is more beneficial than not that students study the same curriculum so it gives them fair competition when they enter college. However, by doing so, it will not give students the freedom and chances to discover their interests outside of what is being taught. In order to reach the middle ground, a national should provide suggestions or recommendations of a curriculum for students to follow, but should not require students to follow it completely.

In conclusion, although having a national curriculum would be advantageous for students to learn their knowledge and skills before college, a nation should not require all students to go through the same curriculum. By doing so, it will create more diversity and allows students to focus more on what they want to study. All in all, a nation can provide a set of guidelines as suggestions, but should not take the freedom away from students to choose what study they wish to pursue.