A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author concludes that regular dental care has no contribution to preventing tooth decay. This conclusion was based on the evidence provided by a recent study which indicated that children living in the Himalayan mountain region have lower levels of tooth decay while, children of America, who visit a dentist on an average of 1.25 times a year, show a higher level of tooth decay. Although the cited pieces of evidence seem logical and probable, the conclusion relies on several doubtful assumptions which do not lend credible support to the argument. Hence, the argument seems logically unconvincing in several aspects.

Firstly, the author assumes that the study was representative and was conducted on a large sample of children. Perhaps, the Himalayas are not as densely populated as America, and hence the comparisons made between two different sized- populations cannot predict accurate results. Moreover, the Himalayan population might comprise only a fewer number of children. Therefore, the results must have shown a lower level of tooth decay in the children living in the Himalayan mountain region. Also, was the survey conducted, by taking into consideration the entire population of children of the Himalayan regions?. Perhaps they have conducted the survey only in the suburban areas and not on the children of rural areas. Also, how was the survey conducted, and what was the margin of error? All of these major flaws should be at least acknowledged and perhaps, improved by providing additional information about the survey that was conducted recently.

In addition to this, the author assumes that receiving professional dental care can guarantee that children would not suffer from tooth decay. But perhaps, the children of Nepal eat healthy food and brush properly as a result of which their teeth and gums are healthy. Further, their staple food might contain more amounts of nutrients such as calcium and vitamins that are useful in strengthening the bones of the body. Alternatively, American children might eat junk food more often, especially sticky food such as chocolates which would speed up tooth decay. Further, they won't be brushing their teeth well, as a result of which they are not able to keep their teeth healthy. Thus the author should consider additional factors that could be responsible for the differences in the levels of tooth decay between the two regions.

Finally, the author assumes that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay. Perhaps the dental care professionals in the Himalayan regions are more practiced and skilled than that of American dental professionals. Therefore, the dentists from the Himalayan region are more capable of healing a tooth decay and this could explain why there are lower levels of tooth decay in the children of Nepal. Also, American children may have to visit the dentist more than 1.25 times a year, for instance, maybe 12 times a year (once in a month) to prevent any cases of tooth decay. Without ruling out these possibilities, the author should not reach a hasty conclusion that dental care has no contribution to preventing tooth decay.

To sum up, the argument consists of some obvious fallacies and loopholes. Small, biased, and unrepresentative samples can prove that the argument is misleading. To strengthen the argument, the author should have provided additional information about the survey conducted and what other factors could be attributed to the lower levels of tooth decay in children from Himalayan regions. But in the absence of this data, the argument relies on certain doubtful assumptions that render it unconvincing as it stands.