According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author concludes that, all colleges and universities should adopt honor code similar to Groveton's in order to decrease the cheating cases among students.He provides an evidence that, when honor code was in place, the number of cheating cases reported by students of Groveton's have reduced. Though the evidences cited seem logical and probable, but the assumptions on which the conclusion relies does not lend credible support to the argument.Hence the argument seems logically unconvincing in several aspects.

Firstly,the author assumes that there was consistency in the number of students before and after the honor code was implemented.But what if a large number of students have left the college and shifted to somewhere else,as a result of which the twenty one cases of cheating reported by the students is still large compared to the total number of existing students.Hence the author should have provided adequate information about the number of students taken into consideration for the exam in order to bolster the validity of the argument.The author fails to address any other factors that could be responsible for students to cheat more in thier exams.For instance,'Were the exams getting tougher than usual?'.In this case reducing the excessive difficulty level of the exams might prove to be a better solution than the system of honor code.

In addition to this, the college assumes that all the students are trustworthy and honest and hence all of them will be compliant with the new rule and obediently reveal their malpractices .But how many of the students were actually lying and not telling the authorities about their cheating? Further the author claims that the students can report about the other students who are cheating.But,a student may falsely report that some other student is cheating and get him into trouble.This might be due to some past rift that existed among them.In this case, the assumption seems irrelevant to the conclusion and hence adopting such a system of honor code would be considered futile. Also, what if the earlier system where teachers monitored the students closely was more effective that the current honor code system? The author should have provided more reasons for the effectiveness of the current system to strengthen the argument.

Finally the author assumes that since this system has worked efficiently in Groveton's college, therefore it may also bring in the same results in some other college as well.However, has the author take into consideration the different number students and teachers in both the colleges.It may happen that the number of studuents in other colleges are less or the number of teachers are more and hence there are effectively less no of cases of cheating among students.It may happen that students of other colleges are not as honest as Goverton college and hence do not report about their cheating.Thus there is not point in implemeting such systems in other colleges.

To sum up,the argument consists of certain obvious fallacies and loopholes.To bolster the argument, the author should have provided addition information about the number of students and teachers in the Goverton's college as well as the type of exams conducted and some effective similarities between the conditions that exists in this college and the other colleges to reach to the given conclusion.But in absence of this data, the conclusion relies on certain doubtful assumption that render it unconvincing as it stands.