"Two years ago, the town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. The best way to improve Hopewell's economy, and generate additional tax revenues, is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

The author concludes that by building a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View, they could improve Hopewell's economy and generate additional tax revenues. This conclusion was based on the fact that similar changes in Ocean View city have led to an increase in tourism, business ventures, and a rise of tac revenues by 30 percent. Although the cited pieces of evidence seem logical and probable, the conclusion relies on some doubtful assumptions that do not lend credible support for the argument. Hence, the argument seems logically unconvincing in several aspects.

Firstly, the author assumes that the introduction of a new golf course and resort that was done two years ago would bring in similar effects, two years later as well. Perhaps, two years ago there were no golf course and resorts present in the city, and therefore the introduction of these new facilities have attracted a large number of tourists. But in today's scenario, possibly there are a large number of resorts and golf courses available and hence these facilities have become commonplace. Therefore, to attract tourists, the city must have many other facilities in addition to resorts and golf courses. If the above-stated assumption is true, then the argument seems misleading.

In addition to this, the author assumes that the increase in tourism or the number of business ventures in Ocean City could be attributed to the introduction of a golf course and resort hotel. But, the author fails to acknowledge any other factors that could be responsible for the increase in tourism. Perhaps, the city would have amazing theme parks or national parks that are highly known for their amazing rides or adventurous activities. Thus, the tourists might be attracted to these places instead of the resorts or golf courses. Further, the increase of business ventures could be attributed to the availability of many startup facilities such as good places to start the business or a large customer base. If either of the scenarios is true, then the conclusion of the argument would be weakened.

Finally, the author assumes that both the cities (Oceanview and Hopewell) are comparable. Perhaps, the Ocean View city is located close to any river or ocean, and thus it can be complementary to the presence of a resort or golf coast. Therefore, the resorts can have additional facilities such as a sea view or pleasant weather. The Hopewell city might be located in a more deserted region and thus the implementation of such facilities won't have a similar effect as that of the resorts present in Ocean View City. If this is true, then implementing similar facilities in Hopewell city would not ensure the increase in economy as well as the number of tourists or business ventures.

To sum up, the argument consists of some obvious fallacies and loopholes. To strengthen the argument, the author should have provided additional information such as the other factors that could be responsible for the increase in the number of tourists and business ventures in Ocean View city. Also, he could have provided information about the differences in location of both the type of cities and the impact of introducing these new facilities. But in the absence of this data, the argument relies on some doubtful assumptions that render it unconvincing as it stands.