The following appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

“Two years ago, the town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View’s tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. The best way to improve Hopewell’s economy, and generate additional tax revenues, is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View.”

The mayor of town Hopewell utilizes the memo to recommend that building a golf course and resort hotel is the best possible way for Hopewell town to increase its economy. He supports his proposal by citing the example of town of Ocean View which had built a golf course and resort hotel two years ago. Since then, Ocean View has seen an increase in tourism and establishment of new businesses in addition to generation of added tax revenues. Although, the argument seems convincing at first sight but on further analysis, the argument is found to rife with holes and assumptions, and thus not strong enough to bring about the desired change as intended in the argument.

Firstly, the author mentioned that due to golf course and resort hotel built two years ago, the tourism and revenue increased in Ocean View and if Hopewell does the same it will bring about the same change as it did in Ocean View, is completely flawed. The author didn’t mention the location of Ocean View and its nearby town or of town of Hopewell. It might be possible that Ocean View is a hill station or a coastal town due to which tourists flock over there. The author has also mentioned that Ocean View built a resort hotel two years ago, so it might also be possible that before two years there were no places to accommodate large amount of tourists visiting Ocean View and so they went to other places, but now due to building of resort hotel they are able to stay in Ocean View for longer amount of time and in turn contribute positively to its economy.

Additionally, the author mentions that new business have opened in Ocean View due to which there have been 30 percent increase in tax revenues. However, the author didn’t mention why new businesses have opened in Ocean View. It may be possible that recently Ocean View increased its taxes and as taxes have increased, it will in turn generate more revenue for the town of Ocean View. Also, it is definitely possible that some multinational company might have opened its office in Ocean View, employing thousands of its residents and while providing salaries to them, company provide heavy amount of taxes to the government.

Finally, author considered that development of golf course and resort will increase Hopewell’s tax revenue and economy, however, author did not provide any evidence which certify that Hopewell is the only one who will make this golf course and resort. It is possible that nearby Hopewell there are already other towns who already have resorts, golf course, amusement parks, industries etc. If such type of towns are located then it is difficult for Hopewell to improve its economy because it is obvious that people or tourist will always attract more towards facilities, enjoyment etc. and if other nearby towns provide better facilities than Hopewell then these towns will prove to be challenging competitors for Hopewell.

Thus, in conclusion, the argument as it stands is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to rectify the above mentioned three flaws, and provide more evidence, then it is possibly to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation.