Laws should not be rigid or fixed. Instead, they should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Laws are the basic principles of our life, so the behavior of people should not go beyond a certain line confined by the laws. Laws are a strong tool to maintain peace and harmony in our society. However, each and every situation can be different. So, from my point of view, I am more aligned with the position that the laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times and places, due to the following two reasons. However, I do concede that there should be some laws in our society that should be rigid so as to maintain law and order in the society.

First of all, in our society we have created various laws, so as to maintain order. Violation of that laws is considered crime and appropriate punishment is given by the judiciary system. But, the circumstance in which the law was broken should also be taken into account. For example, in most western countries, to break a red traffic signal is awarded with a fine, but if someone beaks the signal in order to take his loved one to a Hospital for an emergency is it fair to him the speeding ticket? I think not.

Secondly, there are some laws that have become obsolete with the passage of time and according to me there should be system with which we can modify the archaic law. For example, in ancient times only the oldest son of a person was eligible to inherit his father's property also the daughters' did not have any right to her father's money or property. But with the passage of time that law has been changed and in out modern world each and every child of a person is eligible to inherit his property.

However, if all the laws are flexible then it would do more harm than good to our society as whole. I think that there should be some laws that are rigid. For example, if someone is accused of rape than there should be strict law about it in our world as by not strictly punishing the accused, the society is sending a message that our laws are weak and they can not affectively punish the guilty and there might be some other people who might be tempted to do the same by seeing this.

Thus in conclusion, we can say that there should be balance between the two aspects. There should be some firm and rigid laws for every crime that can guide the judges and the government to maintain peace in the society. However, at the same time there should be some flexibility when it comes to applying the laws in different circumstances. There should be some scope to modify the existing laws, and also the laws that have become obsolete in the today's technological age.