Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Does the leader loose his charisma after five years of remaining in power? or does he become extremely corrupt after some time? The answer to this questions depends and varies from person to person. The claim of the prompt suggests that after five years we should change our leaders and the reason provided by the author states that success is based on revitalization of new leadership. I mostly, do agree with claim as well as reason provided in the prompt due to the following reason. However, I do concede that in some instances changing leadership every now and then is not advised and even in some cases outright harmful as a whole.

Firstly, the claims states that leadership should be changed every five years and I mostly agree with this claim. Take Sri Lankan politics for example, Rajapaksha family was ruling Sri Lanka because 70 percent of all the political departments were in the hands of brothers, sisters, wives and sons of Gotabaya Rajapaksha. As the whole family was ruling Lanka and they did not had any opposition they became extremely corrupt, the lankan government shut down the production of artificial fertilizers and banned farmers from using them and in turn they were mandated to use natural fertilizers. It is proved that natural fertilizer is good in long run but in short term the production of grains decreases drastically. The corrupt government didn’t take this simple fact into account. So, the agriculture dependent economy that was clearly not prepared for such drastic change in the production of grains. The economy collapsed and the whole family took the hard-earned tax payers’ money and ran away from Sri Lanka. If Sri Lanka had measure to stop politicians to not remain in power for more than 5 years the scenario would be different.

Additionally, the reason states that new leadership will bring new views and thus in turn benefit the enterprise. Again, I mostly agree with the reason because as people get older, they might not be in touch with the latest innovations and market trends. Here, if a new and younger person is brought into the leadership positions they might bring enthusiasm into the company because young people are hungry to prove themselves and would also bring motivation to the employees to work better and in turn be profitable for the company.

Nevertheless, I do concede that in some positions of power and natonal security changing leadership every now and then is not good for the country. For instance, take the post of Chief Justices in United States Supreme Court and imagine every new President has power to change and appoint new Justices to the Supreme Court. So, then the President would appoint Justices that are aligned with his view and so, Supreme Court would no longer remain unbaised. Indeed, Supreme Court may even be controlled directly by the political party in power. There would be complete chaos, opposition leader could be arrested and even sentenced to jail time. Thank God, that’s not the case currently as founding fathers have not done this grave mistake.

Thus, in conclusion, from the above reasons and discussions we can say that changing leadership after some time is a good practice best example of this is US President can become president for 2 terms only and not more. Having a upper limit to how many years a person can stay in top leadership will surely decrease the cases of corruption as well as nepotism prevalent in political systems. However, we should not change leadership related to defence and security of the country every five years as by retiring the existing generals we would lose people having vast amount of experience and thus by bringing new leadership soon would in turn bring the security of the country at risk.