The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College proposes to make new dormitories as admissions into the college are increasing and within next 50 years total number of students will double. In order to support his proposal the director argues that as rent of apartments are increasing making new dormitories is the only option. The argument at first seems convincing, nevertheless, on further analysis, the argument is found to be rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to bring about the desired changes as intended by the argument.

First of all, the author of the argument states that at the current rate of admissions the number of students within next 50 years will double. However, this assumption is flawed because the author should give the historical trend of admission rate into the college. It might be possible that in the past decade admission rate was falling but in these last two years only the admission of students has increased. Even if it is true that admit rate of college has increased it might not be the trend forever. In near future recession might hit the economy and admission rates might fall from the current heights. Thus, in the current state the argument of the author is flawed as well as incomplete, so it does not hold water, and in order to improve his argument the author should also mention the historical trends of admit rates as well as projected admission rates of students into the college.

Additionally, the author argues that the apartment rents in Buckingham are increasing, but more information about the rents in Buckingham is needed. The data that rents are increasing may not comply with the rents of apartments near college. However, it might also be true that after increasing rents living in apartments might be similarly or even less costly as compared to living in college dormitories. Considering that an apartment will provide more private space a student may choose to live in apartment even though it is more costly. Thus, more information about the rents of apartments is needed. Also, the author has only taken into consideration apartment in Buckingham and not some other living services like paying guests, room sharing, etc which are way cheaper than apartments. So, the author should give more information regarding other options as well in order to make his argument more convincing.

Finally, the author claims that new attractive dormitories would make prospective students likely to enroll at Buckingham College. The author has made a casual relationship between good dormitories and student enrolment. Do students only think of dormitories while taking admission into a college? Absolutely not. Dormitories is the last reason and least important reason to choose a particular college.There are various other and more important reasons to choose Buckingham College, for instance it might have the best Engineering school in the county or the football club is best of class or it might be less costly to study there or even close to a student’s home. So, instead of making various baseless claims, to support his proposal the author of the memo should give solid claims backed by data to make the argument sound.

Thus, in conclusion, the argument as it stands is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above-mentioned three questions and provide more evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation.