Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Scientific development is backbone for the development of our society. Due to immense scientific discoveries in the past five decades, various countries have improved the health care for their people. The prompt says that Governments should place few or if possible, no restrictions on the scientific research and development. From my point of view, I am more aligned with the point of view that government should place few, restrictions on scientific research and development due to the following two reasons. However, I do concede that the government regulations are required in some specific fields of scientific research and development.

Firstly, the monetary funding is the most important thing that keeps scientific research and development ongoing in our world. Currently, most of the technical funding is done by private investors and various companies. However, if government puts strict restrictions on the scientific research then most of the private investors would back out. As a consequence, the government might not be able to fill the monetary void created by companies not willing to fund such research.

Secondly, most of the bleeding edge research is being done by the private sector. And we are all aware of the fact that private sector is more flexible at adapting to various situations as compared to the government sector. For example, In 2019 there was a world wide Covid-19 pandemic. Billions of people all over the world were affected, all of the world went under lockdown, to contain the virus. Also, millions of people lost their lives. The governments of all the countries were trying their best to save the lives of their citizens. But there were some pharmaceutical companies working day and night so as to develop the vaccine for the virus. After 15 months of continuous research and testing, Pfizer rolled out their vaccine for corona virus that ended the nation wide lockdown in The United States. Since the vaccine was created in record time, it saved millions of lives all over the world. All of this would not be possible if the government had applied strict regulations on the scientific development of pharmaceuticals.

On the other hand, nuclear science is a very sensitive topic. Nuclear energy can be used to generate nuclear power plants to generate electricity without polluting our environment. But it can also be used to create nuclear bombs that can destroy cities in one blast. Imagine a nuclear research going unchecked by the government. For example, a terrorist organization can have access to nuclear weapons. They would create havoc on earth. Hence, for our own safety we need government restrictions on the research of such sensitive technologies.

Thus, from the above reasonings it is evident that putting stringent regulations on the development of technology is not a wise decision. Nevertheless, there should be some regulation imposed on the scientific research by the government, in order to ensure that the technology being developed is being used for the benefit of the mankind and not for the destruction of our society.