The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

“The population of Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island’s six moped and bicycle rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council is sure to attain the 50 percent reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year in the neighboring island of Torseau, when Torseau’s town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals.”

The author of the letter argues that limiting the amount of mopeds available for rental will lead to reduction in accidents involving mopeds in Balmer Island during summer months. The arguer cites the example of nearby Torseau Island as an evidence to support his claim. There were reduction in similar accidents in Torseau Island after the authority there put similar restrictions proposed in the argument. However, the argument seems convincing at first, nevertheless, on further analysis, the argument is found to rife with holes and assumptions, and thus not strong enough to bring desired change as intended in the argument.

Firstly, the arguer has based his contention on the reduced number of accidents in Torseau. However, the arguer fails to provide substantial evidence that can link the reduction of accidents to the limitation imposed on the moped rentals in Torseau. It is likely that the authorities in Torseau have clubbed some other activities with the limitation on moped rentals. These activities could be conducting classes for tourist on road safety, seperating the lanes of bicycle and moped driving, enforcing strict traffic rules, ensuring that the footpath for the pedestrians is at a safe distance for the road, etc. Additionally, there is a possiblity that there are more number of tourists visiting Balmer as compared to Torseau. Therefore, since the tourists do not have an idea of the roads and directions to their destinations, they tend to get careless on the roads leading to a higher number of accidents in Balmer.

Moreover, even if one assumes that the restrictions on moped rentals has indeed led to a reduction in the number of accidents in Torseau, it cannot be believed that implementing similar restrictions will have the same effects in both the islands. This is because the arguer has not provided any concrete evidence in support of the similarities between these two islands. There is no indication of the geographical structure of the two islands. It is likely that Balmer has uneven or hilly terrain and the downhill drive is the major cause for moped accidents. Hence, it is unlikely that implementing restrictions on moped rentals will have the desired effect in Balmer as the islands of Balmer and Torseau cannot be compared in light of the inadequate evidence provided by the arguer.

Finally, the arguer fails to address the issue of how the tourists will travel if they are denied access to bicycles and mopeds. It is obvious that a reduction in the number of mopeds that can be rented out will increase the number of pedestrians leading to a greater risk of accidents on roads involving pedestrians. Moreover, imposing a restriction on moped rentals may lead to each of the moped rental companies diversifying into two or more companies and the overall number of mopeds will remain the same and the restriction will be rendered ineffective.

Thus, in conlusion, the argument as it stands is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarrented assumptions. If the author recitifies the above-mentioned three flaws and provide more evidence, then it might be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation.