Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument vouches for the implementation of call-in advice program in KICK radio station in Medway. The conclusion is based on the premise that same kind of implementation had increased the radio audience of WCQP radio station in Rockville. The argument seems convincing on first sight. Nevertheless, on further analysis, the argument is rife with flaws and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to lead to suggested changed in KICK radio station.

Firstly, the argument states that WCQP radio station in Rockville took a decision to implement more call-in advice programs in their broadcast. However, it is not clear in the argument why this decision was taken. For example, WCQP was a new radio station in Rockville and it wanted to make a name for itself by doing something new, or other programs were not popular. Thus, the question why WCQP increased their call-in advice programs need to be answered by the author, so as to make his/her argument more appealing.

Moreover, the author provides insufficient data regarding the survey conducted as an evidence to WCQP's success. The number of people considered for the survey and whether they comprise of people from all age groups and cover all the areas in all the cities has to be ascertained. Additionally, the authority conducting the survey has to be mentioned. If the authority is an unknown one, or if the methods conducted for surveying are not well-established, then it is least likely that the survey is authentic and reliable. Since the nationwide survey is quoted as a substantial evidence, more details regarding the same are necessary. Above all, the actual number of people interested in listening to the call-in advice programs and the total population as such must be mentioned in the argument to avoid ambiguity.

Lastly, the author assumes that the method which worked for WCQP in Rockville two years ago, will work for KICK in Medway in the current situation. The author should situation of WCQP when it applied this program two years ago and the situation of KICK in the current day and age. Two years is a very long time, and a lot can change in that time. So, the author need to confirm that both the circumstances are comparable to each other and the solution of increasing call-in programs will positively affect KICK in the recent times.

Thus, in conclusion, the author could have firmly established that call-in programs were the only cause for WCQP's success by discounting other possibilities with valid evidence. Hence, the argument has room for improvement and cannot be taken for implementation in the current state.