Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area. This recommendation is based on the increase of audiences of radio station WCQP in Rockville after the addition of such a program. However, before accepting this suggestion and including more call-in-advice programs the following questions need to be answered to appraise the impact of this change.

Firstly, do WCQP and KICK share similar kind of audiences? Isn't it possible that they cater towards two completely different audiences? Maybe the audiences in WCQP are prefer more interactive programs like call-in-advice while that of KICK prefer just to listen to songs without any interruption. So, if such a program were added to KICK in Medway, the proportions of songs will be decreased leading current audiences to abandon the radio.

Secondly, what percentage of surveyee were from Medway? Also, what was the percentage of the surveyee voted for yes to the call-in-advice programs? Only a fraction of the nationwide survey could be from Medway. This would make the outcome of the survey inaccurate. Even if the survey consisted mostly of Medway population, it says nothing about the ratio of yes or no. 100,000 people may have showed interest to these programs but what a million people took that survey. Although, 100,000 sounds like a lot but in reality its just 10 percent.

Finally, where there any other changes within Rockville or in WCQP? There maybe an increase in the population of Rockville which led to the increase in audience number. Or, maybe a new highway has been constructed in Rockville which causes intense amount of vehicles pass within the city and those passengers are actually the reason of the hike in audiences, not the show. Also, WCQP may have hired a famous and charismatic host, who is in charge of the show and it is cause of his skills that new audiences are joining this show.

In conclusion, in its present form, the cognition of including more call-advice programs in KICK is erroneous. Perhaps, the manager could answer the aforementioned doubts in an empirical manner. This would make it possible to judge the feasibility of the conjecture.