The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"The population of Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce

the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island.,

should limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's six moped and bicycle rental

companies from 50 per day to 30 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of

rentals, the town council is sure to attain the 50 percent reduction in moped accidents that was

achieved last year in the neighboring island of Torseau, when Torseau's town council enforced

similar limits on moped rentals."

The author argues in a letter to the editor that they should reduce the number of mopeds rented by the rental companies at the Balmer Islands from fifty to thirty to reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds. The author is convinced that by doing so, they'll be able to achieve a fifty percent reduction in the moped accidents, similar to the results that were reported by their neighbouring Island of Torseau. The author cites the increased summer population of the island to 100,000. The author seems to have based his argument on some unwarranted assumptions that make his argument infirm.

Firstly, the author fails to specifiy the reason of the moped accidents. Perhaps, the accidents are caused due to some safety issues that needs to be addressed or have not been mentioned to the people who rent mopeds. It may be possible that a tourist who is not abreast of the dangers of driving a moped on some particular road and might meet with an accident. In that case the author needs to suggest the installation of proper instruction signs and finds ways to make people know of the dangers of riding a moped in those areas.

Secondly, the author fails to mention the effect it would have on the economy of the Island if all the six rental services have the rental services they offer suddenly cut short. Perhaps, for a Island like Balmer the revenue generated from the rental companies play a significant role in underpinning the economy of the islands. The author must consider coming to a conclusion only after the effects of lower revenue of these rental services can have on the economy.

Thirdly, the reduction in the service and limitations imposed on this rental companies could lead to inflated prices which could discourage tourists to visit Balmer. Perhaps the tourists would refrain from visiting Balmer because of it's high moped rental prices, which surely might be an inconvenience. The author must conduct surveys and take into consideration the effect it can have on the incoming tourist populations.

Fourthly, the author fails to mention and inform the readers about the availability of any conducive or alternative modes of transport on the Island. It might be possible that mopeds are the only or the primary modes of transport on that island and bridling the number of moped to be rented per day, can seriously hobble the tourism sector of the island.

Lastly, the author relies on the results of the neighbouring Island Torseau, which might not be a proper basis for extrapolating results of Balmer Islands. It is possible that the Balmer Islands and the Torseau Islands differ greatly in terms of their geographic locations and features. Geographic location and features of an Island dominate the mobility on the islands, and the favorable modes of transport. The basis of extrapolating results for Balmer is vague if these necessary geographical features of the two Islands are not assessed. Thus, the author should investigate the geographical features of the two and accordingly estimate the results that seem to be promising for Balmer Islands.

In conclusion, the author must include the answers to the above concerns and reasonings in his argument to strengthen it. The author must investigate and consider the cause of moped accidents, effects of the restrictions on the economy and tourism, primary mode of transport and the geographical features of the islands to make a cogent case to the editor.