The following appeared in a local newspaper.

"People should not be misled by the advertising competition between Coldex and Cold-Away,

both popular over-the-counter cold medications that anyone can purchase without a doctor's

prescription. Each brand is accusing the other of causing some well-known, unwanted side

effect: Coldex is known to contribute to existing high blood pressure and Cold-Away is known

to cause drowsiness. But the choice should be clear for most health-conscious people:

Cold-Away has been on the market for much longer and is used by more hospitals than is

Coldex. Clearly, Cold-Away is more effective."

A local newspaper attempts to provide clarifications regarding to competing brands of a ober-the-counter cold medication, that were purportedly engaged in a recrimination. The author of the argument bases his arguments on fact that the availability of Cold-Away even before the competitor Coldex even existed in the market. Taking sides in a medical dispute that involves medications might be seriously harmful if the points made by the argument are not rational and cogent and people are misguided, which seems to be the here. The author of the article seems to have relied on three unwarranted assumptions that are listed below.

The brands are putatively known for the medical inadequacies or side effects of their over-the-counter cold medications. It is highly possible that the side effects that the individual medications of the two brands that are commonly known are based on the hyperbolic public assertions or word of the mouth that in reality are not so. This could lead to serious ramifications if one of the two medications are touted or discouraged for public use by an ecumenical source as a local newspaper, without proper information on the medications. The author must be hardlined to gather the facts about the side effects if any from the companies that manufacture the medications alogn with locan physicians who have been prescribing to their patients.

Something that is on the market for a longer time is by defaut reliable. Perhaps, the medication called Coldex or the manufaturing company didn't exist long before and Cold-Away was the only available option in the market. It is also possible that the Coldex has been a successful and in operation in other regions and markets and came into the this market where Cold-Away had a monopoly after assessing the monopoly and a suitable competition. It makes almost no sense as a reasoning to promote a particular product especially a medication based on its longevity in the market. This unwarranted assumption thus neglects other possible cases where Coldex might be a better and an efficient medication by virtue of its modernity and modern technological advancements in the health and drug development sector. Thus the author must not rely on the fact that Cold-Away has been in the market longer. Rather the author should assess whether Coldex is more efficient than Cold-Away based on the difference in technologies implemented in their production and how up-to-date the production techniques are.

Cold-Away's frequent use by hospitals justifies its reliability. Perhaps, the hospitals that make use of Cold-Away are bounded by contracts to do so. At times hospitals and clinics sign contracts with pharma companies to use their medications in return for reduced costing and similar monetary gains keeping in view the profit-making aspect of the hospital. It is possible that the proclivities for one particular drug is a result of adherence to such a legal binding. The author must refrain from such assumptions without enquiring the hospitals who use of this medication is cited in this article.

In conclusion, the unwarranted assumptions as discussed above renders the argument infirm. The author must gather information about the possible side effects of the medications from reliable sources and refrain from making assumptions based on the time duration for which the medications have been available on the market. Neither should the author consider the frequent usage of these medications by hospitals without inquiring about any legal bindings or reasons for their proclivities. If these clarifications are provided the author will be able to make a cogent case and accurately promote the right medication and not be innocuously misleading people.