Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people say that sports, social activities and libraries in University might not need equal financial support compared to classes in universities, by stating that they mainly belong to the extracurricular activites of students. However, I think that equal financial support is important for sports, social activities and the libraries for any university or college. The following three paragraphs state my reasons and example for the above opinion.

Firstly, sports has become one of the most highpaying profession and one can pursue a career in sports to do so. People who enter the profession of some sports will have a great advantage of honing their skills even before professionally taking up the sport by playing for years back in their university or college facilities provided they had adequate facilities. For example most of the NBA players have emerged from the University Basketball Teams and have gained fame and respect around the world. Most of them started out playing basketball while they were in college and they used to represent their college teams. Had there been no such facility their instituitions provided them with they might not have been able to be the stars and icons they are today. May be their standard of game would have been much lesser and they would have needed more training afterwards to match national standards of the basketball leagues. This goes to show that Universities and colleges must lionize sports and provide equal financial support as sports also leads to many career prospects similar to theoretical classes and lectures.

Secondly, social activites are very important and it provides a sense of relief and rest to the students and also other participants of these activities. Social activities are a great way to mollify the mental health of students and also get them to comprehend the real world more closely. For example a social activity drive of donating clothes and foods to an old age home helps students understand and feel the importance of age and its effects on a human being. Interacting with the occupants of the home and a human interaction heps them get perspectives that they otherwise might not have gained. Their mental health ameliorates as they talk with the seniors and a sense of comfort prevails. Social activities thus are as important as anything else in a instituition and must have an equal financial support so that more and more people can be accommodated in this social activity campaigns and a greater purpose of common good and wellbeing can be served.

Lastly, for any instituition Library is one of the most essential facilities, and the benefit students derive from the same is too gigantic to measure. Library is the source of knowledge and recreation that students and as well as professors enjoy. If the financial support for a library is equal to classes then the instituition can afford more books to be introduced into the library which will result in more number of choices for the readers to explore and read from. Without a library it would be very inconvenient for students to gather extracurrciular knowledge or even complete their coursework as often times professors recommend books for particular courses which if can be proccured from the library provides a cheap and conducive mode for the students to prepare their subject from. This relieves the student from renting or buying multiple books at high costs. This goes to show that libraries are an integral faciity that every insitituition must have ans must gain equal financial support.

In conclusion, sports, social activites and libraries must receive equal financial support owing to their importance and relevance to the students in terms of career prospects, mental health and convenience of acquring knowledge and information.