Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do rather than doing things they should do. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people believe that doing the time we dedicate to things we enjoy or things we do for personal enjoyment do not exceed the time we must allot for things we should do. However, I think that we focus more on our personal enjoyments and things that we like these days rather then devoting the appropriate or the necessary amount of time things that should be done. The reasons that bolster my opinion are explained in the following three paragraphs.

Firstly, with the advent of science and technology the sources from which we derive pleasure and enjoyment has also increased. Thus our predilections to these everyday new sources contribute to our ill time management and dedicating lesser time to important tasks. For example, games that used to be on computers and PCs are now on the mobile phones and with time they have become they have become so ecumenical that they are a widespread source of enjoyment. An example of a game called 'PUBG' can be given which had a customer base of millions of people deriving enjoyment from this game for long hours. A survey showed that the players mostly, children spent long hours enjoying in the game, as long as five hours a day. Had this not been the case the five hours that the child devotes to game, he or she could have devoted a portion of it into something important like, completing their assignments for school. This goes to show that how with the increase in the sources of enjoyment people nowadays spent more time personal enjoyment.

Secondly, again with the advent of science and technology, important things that people used to do in their quotidian lives are being supplanted by technological enhancements which saves more time. This extra time that could have been spent wisely, unfortunately in most cases in devoured by tempting personal enjoyment means. For example, an office employee working with data would have to manually perform statistical calculations and project the outcome or provide prognostications. The same work is done by computers that are intelligent enough to give us the answers we need in a split second. Had such computers and powerful devices not been developed we would've required more time to do the same. Thus, the time most people save due to this technological advancements that facilitate their work can now devote more time to personal enjoyments.

Lastly, People have become more self oriented and focus more on their mental well being than they used to earlier. For example, it has been seen in studies that people in contemporary times suffer more from mental health problems like depression and lonelyness and thus many people to avoid such issues intuitively divert more towards personal enjoyment and things that bring pleasure and joy. Had the stigma regarding mental health not been challenged as it is now in present times, more people would've been doing important things and contributing to important work, but they would have been able to do so till the point their constantly deteriorating mental health reached the inflection pint and they plunged into depression or similar issues. Thus more people do things for personal enjoyment these days and possibly more than important things.

I understand this is a complex issue with people on both sides. My opinion that people do spend more time on personal enjoyment, often too much, rather than things that should be done are supported by the above reasonings.