"Because of television and worldwide computer connections, people can now become familiar

with a great many places that they have never visited. As a result, tourism will soon become

obsolete."

Are we really so indulged in our torpor that the sense of sight and vision will be enough for us to satiate our desires of visiting someplace, while the other senses stay longing for their commensurate share of stimuli? Human beings have always been wanderers and we have treaded that Earth and when the Earth couldn't be enough we landed our men on the moon. The claim that the emergence and advancement of television and worldwide computer connections might snub the tourism industry is a hyperbole with no bounds. I beg to differ strongly from this opinion and my reasons are expatiated below.

The Sense of Sight is not enough for any individual to truely experience a location. Without the other senses receiving their fair share of stimuli from the location or surroundings the human brain fails to reach the level of Elysian it would have had it been actually in the location rather than viewing it through screens. It has been elucidated in studies that a evanescent ecstasy and related emotions are experienced by the viewer when they are shown images of certain locations of ethereal beauty, but the brain is evolved enough to distinguish reality from a mere simulacrum. In the abscence stimuli to other sensory organs the brain fails to hold or maintain the state of delectation for a longer period of time, but has no problem in maintaining it for longer durations when at the actual locations. The vision is bolstered by the other senses and the overall impression that it has on the brain is tremendous. Thus, viewing locations of tourist attractions and scenic beauty will not be enough for an individual to give up on the actual travelling.

The television and worldwide computer connections helps people discover newer places and review other people's travels to make better decisions for their own adventures. The increased accessibility of information about tourist locations and the new places that are being discovered as possible tourist spots, thanks to the advancements in television and worldwide computer connections facilitate the effective planning for tourists and wanderers. It helps people to put up their reviews of a certain place on the public domain for other people to make better and informed decisions. This not only increases the efficacy of travel plans, but also the safety standards based on the past bad happenstances that might have happened to some travelers. Thus the technological advancement is rather beneficial for the avid travellers, promoting tourism.

The technological advancements are beneficial for the tourism agencies in connecting with tourists and advertising their favourite and suggested locations. For example a tourist company can advertise their lodging and accommodation facilities in a Television commercial, which wold increase their visibility to the public. The companies can use the worldwide computer connections to improve their tourist booking facilities by encouraging bookings to be done via online and prior to the visits saving a lot of time and money for the tourist and to ensure a hassle free experiece for both the consumers and themselves.

In a nutshell, the advancements in television and worldwide computer conenctions would rather have an ecumenical positive effect on the tourism industry rather than obsolete thus rendering the claim hyperbolic. The only people that would be relying on these means to experience a place would most probably be elder people and physically hamstrung people who might not be able to visit these place in person. Other than this fraction of the global population the majority of the population would be even more encouraged to explore the world with newer places to discover and share with others.