The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement.

"Because of its spectacular natural beauty and consistent climate, Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire. As a bonus, housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and real estate taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. Nevertheless, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. Retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average."

The author of the magazine article insinuates that Clearview should be close to utopian destination for anyone in look out for a place to retire. The author is convinced that the natural beauty and consistent climate coupled with the purported lower housing costs, improvement of schools, streets, public services and probable availability of a good health care infrastructure might be a perfect location for a retired person. The author seems to have based his arguments in the article over some unwarranted assumptions that needs to be clarified or answered to make a cogent case to its readers.

Firstly, the author states that the housing costs have flagged over the past year and have comparatively lower real estate taxes than the neighbouring towns. The author fails to quantify the costs of the housing and the real estate taxes by not providing us with any substantial statistical data to base the comparisons on. Perhaps the neighbouring town's real estate taxes and the past housing costs were staggering and though Clearview might have a lower cost, the discrepancy might be minuscule. Without the above mentioned data the terms like 'lower' are vague and provides the readers with no meaningful information. The author must investigate and present to us some data on which we can base the comparisons that have been made.

Secondly, the author seems to rely on the promise of the Mayor of Clearview regarding the amelioration of the schools, streets and public services. It is possible that the project of uplifting the public services have a prolonged schedule or is based on residential reviews and requests. Perhaps, only those parts of Clearview will get revamped where the majority of residents have reported for a upgradation. The author should provide more information about the mayor's promises if applicable or might discard this particular argument as it wouldn't no promising and positive effect on the reader.

Lastly, the author assumes that the high number of physicians directly correlates to an excellent health care system for the aged. Perhaps, a majority of the physicians who reside in Clearview have retired or are not licensed to practice in Clearview. It is possible that even though the number of physicians in Clearview is far greater than the national average, but not all are offering their services, or are authorised to offer their services. This assumption undermines the argument as it tries to convey to the readers of a presence of a quixotic health care system.

In conclusion, the argument stands weak based on the above reasons. The author must investigate the previous year's housing costs, the real estate taxes of the neighbouring towns and provide the reader with more data for a meaningful comparison. The author needs to provide more information regarding the mayor's promises and carry out surveys in Clearview to find out the actual number of physicians who are offering their services to come to a conclusion about the native healthcare system. In my opinion if these suggestions are considered the author can make a cogent case to the readers of the magazine.