The following is a memorandum from the director of personnel to the president of Get-Away

Airlines.

"Since our mechanics are responsible for inspecting and maintaining our aircraft, Get-Away

Airlines should pay to send them to the Quality-Care Seminar, a two-week seminar on proper

maintenance procedures. I recommend this seminar because it is likely to be a wise

investment, given that the automobile racing industry recently reported that the performance of

its maintenance crews improved markedly after their crews had attended the seminar. These

maintenance crews perform many of the same functions as do our mechanics, including

refueling and repairing engines. The money we spend on sending our staff to the seminar will

inevitably lead to improved maintenance and thus to greater customer satisfaction along with

greater profits for our airline."

The author of the argument, the director of personnel to the president of Get-Away Airlines, argues that they should provide their mechanics, who are responsible for the inspection and maintenance of their aircrafts to be sent to a Quality-care seminar. The author cites that g the seminar focuses on proper maintainenance procedures and that the author is conivnced that by doing so the money that will be invested in this venture will ensure better maintenance in future and thus greater customer satisfaction, finally healthier profits. The author justifies the efficacy of the seminar by citing the reports from the automobile racing industry, whose mechanics are purported to have had great benefits. The author's arguments seems to be based on some unwarranted claims that needs further information and clarification to make a cogent argument. The unwarranted assumptions are discussed in the followinf paragraphs.

Firstly, the author relies heavily on the reports of the automobile racing industry. Perhaps the report provided by the automobile racing industry are exaggerated to show their industry in a better light. It is also possible that not all, might be a significant number of the corporation that belong to the automobile industry didnot invest in the seminar. This would result in a report that will have very few proponents of the seminar. It would be risky to rely on a report that has been ratified by a small fraction of the whole industry. Thus the author must assess and justify the success of this two week seminar program in the automobile industry before relying with such confidence on it.

Secondly, The author fails to mention or consider the work experience the mechanics of the automobile racing industry had in comparison to the mechanics of Get-Away Airlines. The relevance lies in the fact that more work experience or a significant amount of it might be required or a prerequisite for the seminar. Perhaps the mechanics of Get-Away Airlines donot have enough work experience, this would make the seminar much less effective and beneficial for them when compared to their peers in the automobile racing industry. Thus, the author must focus on surveys that would help in providing a simulacrum of the efficiency of the course based on the work experience a mechanic has.

Thirdly, the author fails to quantify that by how many of the procedures that are performed by automobile racing mechanics are germane and similar to the mechanics working for an aviation company. Perhaps, the procedures are similar but have minute details that are associated with it that are unique to the industries in which they are performed. Thus it might not be appropriate to consider the two procedures as similar, as their minute details when taken into account might have tremendous significance. It is possible that though it seems many procedures are similar to each other for the two industries but aviation industries have far more number of procedures that are not covered by the seminar. Thus the author must quantify the number of procedures that are similar and appropos.

Lastly, the number of procedure that the mechanics will receive training for in the seminar might not be enough considering that they belong to the aviation industry. Perhaps, few number of procedures are discussed and trainings for them are provided in a short interval of time like two weeks. For Mechanics belonging to aviation it might not be enough and thus the seminar might not be a good investment by the company.

In sum, the unwarranted assumptions discussed in the above paragraphs, weaken the argument. The author must consider the above reasonings and provide relevant information to the reader to make a cogent argument.