Much of the information that people assume is 'factual' actually turns out to be inaccurate.

Thus, any piece of information referred to as a 'fact' should be mistrusted since it may well be

proven false in the future.

The ongoing contention between facts and factitious statements have been in this world since ages. The matter of the fact is that, facts recorded or preserved in the form they were first discovered don't contribute much to this fracas. In my opinion we must trust the facts only after we've made sure the credibility of its source. Trusting something to be a fact is not a one step process but a two step process where one must so the gruelling task of checking the credibility of the source. My opinions on this issue are elaborated in the following three paragraphs.

Firstly, people are often lackadaisical or impatient and don't prefer giving importance and time to fact checking. It can be cited as an example that most of the political campaign touting in the contemporary world involves misrepresentation of statements and reports and presenting them as facts to the people with suffrage. This has been seen and studied and reported to have influenced large sections of the society to be beguiled into believing those falsely claimed as "factual" statements to be facts. This goes to show that had the people or the voters relied on fact checking and aportioned a small amount of their time to determining the credibility of the campaign advertisement claims, they could've avoided themselved from getting fooled. Thus we should trust something as a fact only after establishing it as one when the sources are legitimate and veracious.

Secondly, with the advent of technology it has been become increasingly daunting for the general popilation to regularly fact-check everything. Technology has always perpetuated some negative aspects of it and this is one of those disadvantages. Technological advancements for example social media has lead to the wide spread epidemics of misinformation reaching and infecting people on a daily basis. Sadly there and rarely any effective technological inocculation against this other than spending your time on manual fact-checking of each and every bit of information reaching you. Back in the day, when technology was not as advanced as the present times, print media was one of the primary carrier of misinformation. Thus it technological advancements through the ages have always bewildered people when it comes to embibing information and judging its reliability and credibility.

Lastly, one man's facts are always for some another man a bogus claim. This results from Cognitive Dissonance. People tend to not accept something as fact based on a belief even though someone is trying to justify their claim's credibility to them with suitable evidence and appurtenants. For example scientists have been warning people about the climate change and how it can be deleterious to our existence on the earth, but there are large sections of the society and even governments who fail to accept it has a fact, even when presented with statistical and proven experimental data on the same. Thus, we must not cease to trust on facts but rather accept the fact that Cognitive Dissonance exists and has been a key feature of the human race since its inception.

In conclusion, there might be many impediments like technological challenges, discord, personal biases that make things seem as facts or not facts at times, but that should never be hamstringing our trust on facts.