A recent study suggests that people who are left-handed are more likely to succeed in

business than are right-handed people. Researchers studied photographs of 1,000 prominent

business executives and found that 21 percent of these executives wrote with their left hand.

So the percentage of prominent business executives who are left-handed (21 percent) is

almost twice the percentage of people in the general population who are left-handed (11

percent). Thus, people who are left-handed would be well advised to pursue a career in

business, whereas people who are right-handed would be well advised to imitate the business

practices exhibited by left-handers.

The author argues that the people who are left-handed would have a better chance in pursuing careers in business and the right-handed people should rather rely on and learn from the practices the left-hande people adopt in pursuing careers in business. The cites a recent study that has descried that the left-handed people who excel in business are in higher percentages that the percentage of people who are left-handed in a general population. The author's argument seems to be based on some unwarranted assumptions that should be clarified to make a cogent case. The assumptions weaken the argument and are discussed in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, there in no mention of the body that has conducted the study. Without a credible source for the study the arguement might seem vague. Perhaps the studies were conducted by a lesser known organization that is not known for its scientific findings, It might be possible that there can be adulterations in the data and the results of the study due to factors ranging from, not following proper research norms,to deliberate attempt by someone. The author must mention the source of the study so as the readers can find this argument credible.

Secondly, the study is conducted on 1,000 prominent business executives, where there is no mention of regional and ethnical backgrounds of the people considered for the study. Perhaps, the regional and ethnical backgrounds of people have a role in determining the success rate in their business careers. It may be possible that the subjects for the study had the same regional and ethnical background which would implicate that the study is deemed to fail on an ubiquitous basis. The author must gather details of the subjects who were considered for the study to provide a comprehensive view of how the study might actually be germane to people.

Thirdly, for a study that concludes in general that left-handed people have better probability in succeeding in business than their right-handed counterparts, there are only 1000 people who were considered. Perhaps, thousand people are not sufficient enough to arrive at conclusive results. It may be possible that the results would be vary significantly if the number of subjects were increased commensurate to the current population. This would elicit better results from the study. The author fails to make a coherent argument as no relation between the statistical numbers provided in the arguement are provided.

Lastly, there has been exposotion that relates how the hand of use relates to the brain functioning and which is significant enough to bring noticeable discrepancies between the two, in terms of a success rate as business executives. Perhaps, there are other brain functions that dominate ones ability to suceed as a business executive, more than someone's dominant hand. The author relies on a study that fails to setup the relation to the observation and the results. This adds to the unreliability of the argument.

In conclusion, the argument by the author is weakened by the above-stated reasons. If the author investigates about the organization that conducted the study and the factors that were considered in the study the author can make a cogent case to the readers. The author must judge and establish reliability of the study and its results to make a stronger argument.