"Most cultures encourage individuals to sacrifice a large part of their own personalities in order

to be like other people. Thus, most people are afraid to think or behave differently because

they do not want to be excluded."

In todays world where the originality and individuality are being lost in the stygian of culture, societal norms and current trends, one must always look forward to break themselves out of these menacles. To realize one's own personalities and charcter traits and own it is a liberation in itself and must be Highly encouraged. Alas! it always has been impeded by societies and cultures toiling to wrap around a group of humans and generalizing them till the point where they are forced to give their sense of individuality. A significant number of cultures impose and enjoy the hegemony on its people where most of them had no choice to opt out, being born in the first place. They lead to people giving up large proportions of their individual personalities to be familiar to the group. I strongly agree with the imperialism most cultures possess becuase of two salient reasons.

Most cultures are ancient and have failed to catch up with time. They curtail an individual's sense of expression hindering the growth of ones personality. Cultures provide a simulacrum of a community of people living together and how their ancestors had lived and encompasses the life style and expressions of life the collective of humans in that culture had relied on for long periods of time. Citing an example of a small village in the state of Gujarat, in India, the cultural hegemony proscribes women from wearing anything they want and someone who evinces any signs of aberration from the same must expiate. Habiliments are one of the primary ways we express ourself in the world. It is how we want the world to perceive us in our own unique way of living. It is the most accurate depcition of our personalities and the character traits we feel comfortable to put show the world. Curtailing that results in an individual losing an important form of selfexpression.

The significant number of cultures propagate superstitions and misguided beliefs even in this modern age. There are examples of cognitive dissonanace in most cultures regarding "Mental Health" is baffling and concerning. For example, in a study conducted around the world, it was found that the mental health was still a taboo and disregarded predominantly in South Asian cultures. We witness the results of these cultural dominance and corresponding sucide deaths soar in numbers.

The cultures discourage critical thinking. Many examples can be provided of renowned thinkers who were despised by their cultures because of their critical thinking abilities. The cultures try to maintain a similar thinking standard that are ancient and obsolete and refuse to update themselves with time.

Though one might counter, that most cultures are an important part of one's personalities and that humans being convivial beings must need to interact with people and culture a plays a role in that, it can be easily dismissed by stating the fact that number of Human beings giving up on their lives is tantamount to the number of humans purportedly benefitting from it. In conclusion, most cultures are primary reason in a large number of people being coerced to give up on their personalities and be like their peers bounded by the cultural norms.