Most cultures encourage individuals to sacrifice a large part of their own personalities in order to be like other people Thus most people are afraid to think or behave differently because they do not want to be excluded GRE Issue 10

The speaker cites about the individual`s response towards the cultures that encourage them to behave differently than they are . I strongly agree with the speaker as we can see many people in our society sacrificing their field of interest in order to be accepted in the society. They are coerced to live a unsatisfied and disgruntle life.

As we can see,different people residing in different parts of world have motley of cultures and it is so hard to stick around these every cultures. Some cultures believes something and the other believes another thing. It is people whose becomes sandwich between these cultures whether to follow or not. In most of the under modernized village or cities, people are so naive that they blindly think that they have to follow those cultures. And they don`t see the feasibility of these cultures and what impact are these cultures creating in individual`s life. This can create individual`s life miserable. For eg; in some village area, some people might be interested in dancing, singing, acting and because of their culture like they should not be involved in such profession, they have to let go of such passion in order to be fit in that society. This can anything but help grow an individuals into what they want.

And most of the cultures in our society are so unwarranted that they bound people in their circumscribe and impede every individual`s personal life. Let us talk about the people with different caste, race, religion etc living in our society. They have their own way of celebrating their own feast and festivals and their own traditions of doing their own things. In our society, we can see that some people are criticizing other`s way of celebrating the feast and way of living their individual`s life. This can create a serious problems in them. They must have right to move their way of life in their own way without being encountered by the people`s opinion.

However, every cultures cannot be bad. Some cultures carry a very good moral values and following that cultures and being the part of that culture can bring a decent results in our life`s too. It`s just that we must have ability to filter the bad and good sides of that cultures. And if necessary, if that cultures is bad then you must be able to personify yourself about the impact of that culture and correct if possible. This can also build up your personalities not just degrade it.

So, in sum we can say that it depends on individuals too whether he can filter the different sides of cultures like which one is better for him/her and to withstand every circumstances that comes on their way if they are right and deal with it without falling apart. Mostly, we can see people sacrificing their own personalities in order to adjust in the society they are living in and this should not be followed as they are hampering their own lifes.