A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys

In the letter,author concludes about the effect of birth order and level of stimulation of cortisol based on the study done on eighteen monkeys. The evidence provided doesn`t sufficiate to reach such conclusion. And the author mentions about the same case is with the humans too. The author must justify his conclusion with strong evidence to undergrid his conclusion.

Firstly, he mentions about the study he had done on eighteen monkeys.Can such study on insignificant number of monkeys help to reach such conclusion?? There are significant numbers of monkeys of different origin and species. He shlould have atleast studied differently on different species and if the findings were the same then, the above conclusion could be appropriate. It would bolster the argument.

Secondly, about the stimulation of the cortisol hormone,in the first born human child, the author provides no such evidence on how the conclusion was made. He should have provided with the study he had done with the infants and the results from the study. Then it would be easier for us to apprehend the conclusion. The author can`t just conclude just reaching out the study in the monkeys.

Last but not the least, the study done on the pregnant monkeys and the level of stimulation of Cortisol in their bodies is found to be more during first time than other period. The author don`t have the specific statistical data to undergrid his statement. Just by finding the similarities on these insignificant number of monkeys,the conclusion cant be made. There might have been less level of stimulation of the hormone in other first time pregnant monkeys. The author might not have reached in that area for the study. He/she should have included that part too.

In sum , we can say that the evidence provided above isn't sufficient to bolster the conclusion. The author must come with same relevant research and findings to undergrid his findings otherwise the conclusion get be undermined.